We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
Review of Rustica

Rustica
Reserve with
Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 562 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I went to dinner for valentines day so you could imagine how busy it was. Still we were greeted by lovely wait staff and served very quickly throughout the whole night. We had the lamb to share, it was absolutely amazing and for my partner to be full after it was a good sign. Definitely a place to go check out :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beko89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    182
    72
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a unique restaurant. The decor who could complain, it is lovely. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The view of Newcastle beach is great. The food was nice especially the desserts. The menu is unusual but just ask the staff and they will explain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyandbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cafe experience at a fine dining price.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Don't take this the wrong way but it's just a whole bunch of little things that didn't add up. Hard chairs. Paper napkins. Wobbly tables. Outside bathroom (it was raining) and cafe quality food at restaurant prices. Don't let this stop you from going. The staff were great and now that you know what to expect you shouldn't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxStax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food Friendly service Good Value”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went to Rustica with my Wife and parents. We sat my the window which overlooked the ocean. The decor is quirky but totally in theme with the style of food and it had a warm feel to it. Our table was supplied with a free basket of bread and some dipping oil. We ordered some olives to pick before the main course, then for main course the lamb shoulder for 2, a steak and a salmon dish. All food arrived in good time and was cooked bang on. The portion sizes were generous. The staff were friendly but not intrusive. Water was supplied to our table by the waiter whenever a glass needed topping without us having to ask. The wine menu was good. Overall I would have to say the entire experience was delightful and excellent value. We will certainly be returning to dine again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A big big feed!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Rustica is a lively restaurant and with extravagant decor. Not having been before we expected a cosy romantic evening but it is anything but. It's a bustling busy place, but that was good. We had window seats. Ask for one of these if you can. We started with the mixed meze plate and the chefs choice of charcuterie. This gave us a shared entree of 7 different things and it was excellently presented and very tasty. However considering what we ordered next it turned out to be too big.
So be warned, the Lamb Kleftico for two is a monster of a dish. Its huge. Enough for three people. Its also delicious. Lamb so tender it falls off the bone. Tasty potatoes and enough green stuff to make it feel healthy. We probably only managed less than half which was doggy bagged up (we saw a lot of people leave with these!!) and it will be dinner again tonight!! The waitress who cleared away for us said they normally advise people ordering the Kleftico to go easy on the entrees. Well our waitress didn't!!! This somewhat spoilt the overall experience as we were too full for dessert! (And they looked great - so we will have to go back I guess).
Service was good, quite swift and attentive enough. Wine menu short but with some good quality stuff and a nice selection of local wines, and a good choice by the glass. We would go back.
Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustica also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing