We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style rooms, gorgeous food and accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sunnyside Tavern
Ranked #4 of 28 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Sunnyside looks like any other tavern from the outside but the rooms are almost what you'd expect at a boutique hotel. Well proportioned, gorgeous linen and exceptionally clean. The food was gorgeous and there's access to tea,coffee, kettle, microwave fridge etc. I'll definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tash O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed overnight to attend a concert at the entertainment centre,upon booking we were told there is usually a courtesy bus running on the nights there is something on, perfect to be able to park your car and not have the worry about finding your way.All staff were friendly and helpful.We didn't get home from concert until late so we missed the noise from patrons.Beautiful meals from the restaurant, rooms very clean and fresh.Only issue was a terrible smell after using shower coming up through the drain, although that was after a period of loads of rain so I suspect everything is overloaded.We will stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOPS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night after going to the newcastle entertainment centre to see a show(10/15min )walk away....upon arrival we were met by a very pleasant female staff member who explained everything and she also took us to our room...the room was spotlessly clean and the decor very tasteful.

Infact we found all the staff to be very helpful and pleasant.

We ate in the dinning room never thought to book a table but as we were guests they found us a table even though it was very busy.

Would we stay again and recommend this Hotel... most definitely

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welltraveledtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in Sunnyside Tavern just for one night on our way to Sydney. This place is an exelent choice and very good value for money. The bed was good quality and the room was in superb condition, a bit small though but definitely ok if you don't intend to stay for long. Staff was really cool and helpful and it's also a great place to eat and have a beer or two. Parking lots available next to the building.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A really good renovation but if you want to sleep before midnight then check if they have a live band on. They certainly do on Saturday nights.

Shared bathrooms are good. Bed linen and pillows good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezza319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a a Friend up for the weekend to go to the entertainment centre they stayed at the Sunnyside Tav.
Geez this place is a hidden secret,awesome food great looking staff (I want my wife to get into one of those uniforms)
Now for the rooms u can't beat em for value and comfort he was there on a Friday and Saturday night in room 9 didn't hear a thing found parking easy and is still raving about it to me
So Sunnyside, we will be back for a meal and would recommend your accom anytime

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Byronba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends whilst in Newcastle to watch international netball series at the Newcastle Entertainment Centre which is within walking distance. The hotel is a little out of town but the staff helped us out by driving us in on the afternoon that we first arrived. The rooms have been recently renovated and are in good condition although a bit small. Over all a good place to stay if you need to be near the ent. centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 24 in Newcastle
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
400 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunnyside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Tavern

Address: 20 Broadmeadow Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales NSW 2303, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $67 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Sunnyside Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing