We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunnyside Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sunnyside Tavern
Ranked #2 of 29 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
29
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were looking for a good value place to stay in Newcastle on a one night stopover on our tour of the eastern coast of Australia. Accommodation prices in Newcastle are not cheap and we settled upon the Sunnyside Tavern thinking it was quite far from town. We were pleasantly surprised, it only took a few minutes by bus to get into the centre, Broadmeadow train station was very close for onward travel, and we were even given a lift via the shuttle back to the rail station.
We ate at the tavern on both nights and they had meal offers on every night. The food was great, and the conversation with the local punters was lots of fun. We slept very well, and can't really fault the place, the management and bar staff were lovely. Perhaps the only thing we would say was that 99 dollars for a room without breakfast or a private bathroom was steep, but then our alternative son that particular night were very limited, and we would be more than happy to stay again in the future. It's a lovely newly done up place (and I'm a very picky customer).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed at the sunny side Tavern prior to going on our cruise from Newcastle. I rate our stay as Excellent. Staff and facilities were not lacking in any way. Our room was modern, great bed. The restaurant was great. No complaints. A great place to stay. The pub downstairs was a great place for a drink and relax. We checked out the shared shower and toilets. All new very clean aswell.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Algrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We regularly eat out, with friends, and try different restaurants.

The Sunnyside Tavern, is not in the mainstream of restaurants or cafes, nor is it located near any other hotels, yet despite no reason to be competitive, have outdone themselves with quality food at affordable prices.

The fact this was a birthday, meant we also took our own cake, and with no fuss it was plated up (with raspberries at no extra cost), and delivered to our table, candles alight. This was a nice touch, and much appreciated (in view of restaurants wanting to charge for the privilege!)

The quality of 'hotel' food in Newcastle is very good, and the Sunnyside Tavern, maintains that standard.

Recommended.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tgricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I love this venue and I am stoked that they have renovated their accommodation facilities. I stayed here last week while in newcastle for a family wedding and now i can wait for the Knights season to start. We travel and stay in Newcastle very regularly during the knights season and the Sunnyside is literally a 5-10min walk to the stadium. The accommodation facilities are exceptional and the food is great too. The staff are very helpful and have even dropped me where i wanted to go with their courtesy bus. I will be booking a regular room for all the knights home games!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIKS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here before one of the Newcastle Jets home games at Ausgrid Stadium and it was fantastic. the staff dropped us off to the game and picked us up in the courtesy bus. The meals were delicious and all the accommodation is very new. We will be back up here to watch the Newcastle Knights play in the NRL and will be staying again for sure. Thanks to all the staff for making our trip stay so special

Room Tip: Ask for the Family Room. It is room number 1 and it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great place to stay near the Entertainment Centre. We attended a show recently and the staff at The Sunnyside were fabulous. They let us know about their courtesy bus and so we booked a lift to the entertainment centre for the show and they collected us when we rang them afterwards.
The food was great in the restaurant and the dessert was delicious!!
The rooms were brand new!! They were modern and excellent. The bathroom was pristine the bed was very comfy.
We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and we would definitely stay there again. Very handy for shows at the Entertainment Centre or if you are going to a match the the Knight's stadium

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBR283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunnyside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Tavern

Property: The Sunnyside Tavern
Address: 20 Broadmeadow Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales NSW 2303, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sunnyside Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing