We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite meal and fantastic service”
Review of Subo

Subo
Reserve with
Subo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 563 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $71
Cuisines: Australian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our aim is to provide simple pleasures - food that is handled with care, wine that fills the senses and service that is attentive and thoughtful.
Lemon Tree Passage
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite meal and fantastic service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent service from the moment we walked in the door, beautiful wine, devine meals finished off with excellent coffee in quality noritake fine china with a quality cheese plate selection.
Will I visit again , Yes, Yes Yes!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisyphsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    51
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Must Have the Chicken Wings & Carrot Tart!!! Beef Just Devine!!! Proffesional Friendly Experience 10 Plus!!!!!!!!!! Have Been Many Times Had the degustation menu Once Was Fantastic! perfect in every way, If ever in Newcastle, do yourself a favour and go to this newly hatted restaurant while you can, soon you will have to book months in advance, trust me, get in quick !!!!!! U can Never Get board With the Subo Menu as it is Always Changing!!!!!! Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostaccurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To go out for Dinner”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a meal at Subo recently. I have tosay it was a wonderful experience. The staff were very helpfuland so friendly. The food was most enjoyable.

The whole experience was just wonderful and I would not hesitate to go there again and I would recommend anyone to go and have a great experience.

Celia Semitecolos

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simply10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So much better than we expected”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are locals but had trouble finding Subo. It was tucked away in a quiet part of Hunter St. However we are so glad we did! The food, atmosphere, service - in fact everything was amazing. We took our 16 year old daughter and had the degustation menu. It is without a doubt the best restaurant in Newcastle. We would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Curious022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a world shattering surprise !”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My girlfriend at the time and I headed to Newie for a meal on a Sunday morning, she consulted Tripadviser on her phone as I drove, she rattled off a list of names and we made up a short list and settled on Subo !
Thank the culinary gods we did, no reservation, short notice, spur of the moment and we were welcomed like visiting royalty, from the moment you walk in that amazing front door you know it is going to be great!
The decor is amazing, right down to the shot glasses with a single nastersion shoot in them, beautiful simple and clean!
We had the tasting menu, every single mouthful was a revelation, perfect in every way, the food here is faultless !

If ever in Newcastle, do yourself a favour and go to this newly hatted restaurant while you can, soon you will have to book months in advance, trust me, get in quick !!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subo also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Subo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing