We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

The Depot on Beaumont
Ranked #93 of 558 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Australian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I called at 6:50pm and was able to make a 7:30reservation for that very night (a Saturday night). The hostess sat us right away. We were going to have to sit at a tiny two sweater table but she quickly found us a more spacious table which was great as we hadn't even asked. The service was great. My food was so tasty. Australian king prawn spaghetti. My hubby got the lamb and it was a bit bland. The side of veg was cooked to perfection. Overall it was a great experience. Well worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great space and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 7.15pm to find the place packed out. We were promptly seated and our drinks orders taken. We had to wait about 20 minutes before our drinks arrived, I had to ask for them - bit slow. Our entrees arrived fairly quickly but it took about 45 mins for main courses to come after entree had been cleared. As we were catching up with an old friend from out if town it wasn't a problem for us to wait so long for our food - it gave us time to talk. The food was great when it finally arrived. The service from the floor staff was pretty good it was just very slow coming from the kitchen - no wonder with 200 plus diners. There was live music on the night we were there which was excellent. We will definitely go back, maybe mid week when it's not so busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
2,829 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,823 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Only had a short time between meetings and wanted a simple lunch with ease.
May be different at night as it seems to be a great spot for groups - I was alone and it suited me well - tapas was perfect for my needs and a good variety of options.
Very modern and very stylish - a fascinating strip that I'd never before realised was there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna bay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“plenty of atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Large two storey conversion of an old Masonic hall, however there was no need for any secret handshakes! Plenty of large groups but still felt comfortable as a couple because of the clever fit-out. Well executed, quality food and great service ,everything a restaurant should be.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank onemilejorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great spot, good vibe, attentive service without being intrusive. Delicious menu, tapas are amazing and just the right size. Long Island Ice Teas are yum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot on Beaumont also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Depot on Beaumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing