We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Wamberal, Australia
1 review
“fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Three couples booked this place for a Saturday night when we went to a show at Lizottes.... could not have been happier! Perfect location, beautiful house and lovely hostess and host. The breakfast was superb and the hosts were just so friendly. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: all rooms were comfortable but only one had an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzaa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Caroline

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay.
Phil & I are glad that you enjoyed your time at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast. We enjoy having a B & B & therefore we strive to deliver exceptional service to our guests & we are glad that we were able to provide this for you!
I have to agree that the property is beautiful & the breakfast is superb - what a special way to
to enjoy your special 'milestone' birthday!, & we love to help you celebrate it!
We look forward to welcoming you & M, back to Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, with or without M & B & G & A in the near future.!!

Kind regards & thank you again Caroline
Sue Quinn
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
84
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a great find this was, although we knew it would be something special after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. It started as soon as we arrived, where there was a sign outside welcoming us by name. Sue was so welcoming and friendly, she showed us round and gave us a choice of rooms. Then she disappeared to make us a delicious afternoon tea with warm scones, jam and cream. I then had a luxurious bath before we went out for our evening meal. We then met Phil who was very friendly and had a nice chat. The whole place and the atmosphere were terrific and our every need was met. Breakfasts were a delight, beautiful fruit salads, fresh smoothies, etc. Although we don't normally eat big breakfasts Sue decided this would not daunt her and tempted us with fresh eggs, ricotta pancakes, avocado and mushroom toasts and we had to eat it all! If you are travelling anywhere near Newcastle please stay - you will be as delighted as we were.

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Margaret & Graham

We love to receive positive confirmation. Phil & I take a genuine interest in how our guests have enjoyed their stay.
Yes, I agree that Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast is 'something special' & the reviews on Tripadvisor testify to this. We are very grateful for all our reviews.
Phil & I try to be good ambassadors for excellent accommodation & customer service.
We consider this important for overseas & Australian visitors.
' Although we don't normally eat big breakfasts Sue decided this would not daunt her and tempted us with fresh eggs, ricotta pancakes, avocado and mushroom toasts and we had to eat it all!'...lol!! our chickens noticed that there weren't too many scraps from you guys!!
The 'LP guide' a couple of years back, stated that Newcastle, Australia was the '9th best city in the world to visit'!! .....according to your review..maybe Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast should be noted in their guide?!!
Kindest regards & thank you again Margaret & Graham
Sue Quinn
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed with Sue and Phil a year ago, so we knew what to expect. But this time it was even better, as we had extra time to savour the friendship and the wonderful food. Even the horrendous weather was not enough to spoil our time at this most enjoyable of B&Bs. We're already looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Kerry & Judith

Thank you again for your lovely review - we are so glad that you found our service 'even better' as we aim to always provide five star service to make you always feel at home.
It was great that you chose to stay 3 nights, this time, so Phil & I could savour your wonderful friendship & provide you with some of my 'signature' breakfast dishes.
Yes, November provided Newcastle with more than enough rain, although, I feel it didn't dampen the atmosphere over brekky on the protected verandah.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about your last experience at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast.
Phil & I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards to you both, Kerry & Judith
Sue Quinn
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We just returned from Newcastle and already looking for an excuse to visit that place again to try all Sue’s breakfast varieties and our daughter is looking forward to playing with Billy the dog in Phil’s garden. We absolutely enjoyed friendliness and hospitality of “Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast” owners who made our stay comfortable in every aspect. We will recommend this B & B as the best choice to anybody who needs an accommodation in Newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Yelena

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review & for acknowledging the 'friendliness and hospitality of Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast'.
We are so glad that you, E & S enjoyed your stay - we do our best to have all our guests leaving happy, satisfied & excited to return!...even the children!
Phil & I appreciate you recommending us to your friends & family as a relaxing B & B and destination. We aim to showcase the best of Newcastle to all new visitors - and help returning travellers rediscover it!

Kind regards & thank you again Yelena.
Sue Quinn
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My friends and us decided to attend a concert and chose not to travel so we required accommodation close to the venue and could not have picked better as the rooms were very comfortable and to wake up to one of the best breakfast selection was absolutely fantastic.
Would recommend to anyone wishing to either stay overnight or longer term.
Most other places require a longer stay then overnight so this met our requirements and will definitely stay again when required.
HOSTS with the MOST !!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank greg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear G & A

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review.
Your feedback is so very much appreciated.
We loved having the 6 of you stay for the 2 special birthdays celebrations.

Take care & enjoy your travels!
We welcome you both back anytime.
Kindest regards to you both & thanks again.
Sue & Phil
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Ph 0410 613519
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Sue and Phil made us feel very much at home, right down to the blackboard welcome greeting at the front steps. Everything was spotlessly clean, and attention to details - water carafes by the bed, Anzac cookies to have with our cuppa,bottled water in the fridge, etc etc was great. The side verandah was a great place to eat breakkie and Sue provided us with a delectable feast all served on period crockery! It was lovely!!
If time had allowed it would have been even more pleasant to have had more time to chat!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi K

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit such a lovely review.
Your kind words are very appreciated.
It was great that you enjoyed your stay.
We very much enjoyed meeting you, R & N.
Hope you have had some rain & B & P are behaving!!
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards to you all
Sue & Phil
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Ph 0410 613519
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

After being on the road for 14 hours, arriving at Newscastle's B & B was like finding an oasis in the desert! Sue & Phil were amazing hosts and the ambience that they've created is so very warm and inviting........it was like coming home!

Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed was extremely comfortable and the little touches (like freshly baked ANZAC cookies and chocolates by your bed) all made the experience one we'll never forget.

It has to be said, however, that the highlight of our stay was the breakfast: delicious fruit salad with yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and THE BEST pancakes with honeycomb butter that we've EVER tasted!!

We love you Sue & Phil and we'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi_White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueQNBB, Owner at Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi G

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Your kind words are very much appreciated.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to your next visit.
It is a long drive from Melbourne to Brisbane & we were happy to provide that 'oasis' enroute.

Kindest regards to you, S & A.
Sue & Phil
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Ph 0410 613519
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
3.4 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 9 Morehead St | Lambton, Newcastle, New South Wales 2299, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast offers elegant luxury accommodation at 9 Morehead Street, Lambton (Newcastle) 2299, New South Wales, Australia. This B&B is a very comfortable 120 year old home accommodating up to six adults in three private elegant bedrooms. 5 minutes from John Hunter Hospital and from Newcastle University campus. Lambton is the geographical center of Newcastle, and Newcastle beaches are only a 10 minute drive. Very convenient & quiet location. Public transport, 5 cafe's/restaurants, heritage park & shopping village are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Newcastle's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing