We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position,position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Newcastle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    350
    100
    19
    17
See reviews for
145
345
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

one of the best things about this hotel is the location. very convenient to restaurants and cafes. Spanish restaurant 100m down the road was a knock out. rooms where comfortable enough. we payed extra for an ocean view room which we didn't take advantage of and when we did look out was not that great. also they are constructing on the land next door so I don't know for how long they will have ocean view in the room we got as it will definitely obscure. staff where nice and professional and the bar down stairs was pleasant.

Room Tip: not really worth paying extra for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear LuxCat,

Thank you for sending through your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate your feedback. The Spanish restaurant down the road (Bocardos) is really excellent we always get great feedback about their food and atmosphere. The construction site next door will have some impact on the long term views from the rooms on the Southern side of the building, we will of course re-classify these if they are affected.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Fantastic position overlooking the ocean in the centre of Newcastle CBD. We stayed on the 4th floor & had a balcony looking south towards the ocean baths. The room was large, clean and comfortable for a short stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful, giving us a map of the surrounding area & recommending places to eat. The hotel was difficult to find without a map as it is located at the end of a dead end street, but once there it was within walking distance of many of Newcastle's attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear mellyg3,

Thank you for the kind review, we appreciate you sending through your feedback. In relation to finding the hotel if you have a GPS it can try and steer you to an alternate King Street, if you are driving to the hotel and coming down Newcastle Road off the freeway you can just stay on the same road until it terminates at the beach and you will find us there.

We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent hotel, great location. Had a standard room with a lovely view of the beach, room clean, modern, good amenities, bed comfortable.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Staff very friendly and happy to provide any information required.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear gogo65,

Thank you for the kind review we appreciate the feedback, we hope that you will return to stay with us again when next you are in Newcastle.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel to stay in but abit pricey. In term of breakfast, will not recommend to eat there. Not a good place to have dinner.
Anyway, it is a good hotel to stay in for business trip.
Should also provide international power adapter to customer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CKM1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear CKM1268,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. In relation to the International adapters we have a number of these available from reception at all times, if you are staying with us again please ask one of our team and they will be able to provide you with one. We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing