We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    371
    103
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
363
41
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is the second time my wife, daughter and I have stayed here, having previously stayed when it was the Sebel. Once again the hotel was great. Fantastic location, friendly staff, excellent hotel all around! The only complaint that we had was the "black out" curtains were anything but. At night we were able to see around the room as if there were no curtains at all. Not a big deal for my wife at all, but I have trouble sleeping in a lit room. The bed was comfortable, and once asleep, was very comfortable after a long day in the car.

We ate room service for Dinner and Breakfast, it was delicious and well-priced for room service, although the French Toast my wife ordered was a small serving. There is no continental breakfast available, which we though was very strange. Dinner servings were large and very filling.

I am a Silver Le Club Accor customer, but the staff didn't seem to be aware of this, and I had to inform the staff of what this meant (free internet, no incidental deposit etc.), perhaps this is because of the recent rebranding, but perhaps more training is required in something so simple.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 5tumpy,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We apologise that your silver Le Club membership benefits were not automatically recognised when you arrived this should have been flagged prior to arrival by our reception team.

We appreciate your kind review about our staff and the hotel in general & we look forward to your return in the future.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and we were so amazed, actually we were not expecting our Newcastle experience to be so good, but the area it was great! The hotel is located very close to the main Newcastle beach, and the amazing walkways that run for literally miles, the beaches here are absolutely stunning! Anyway back to the hotel review, the King size bed was huge and very comfortable, the room was very large and spacious, it was an absolutely packed hotel with a wedding on so we could not get a room with a view but we didn't mind as the location to everything was so great.

The room was very clean which is very important, the only two things I would want to see change here are I think the bathroom grout needs a good clean, not that it was atrocious but it does need some mould removed, and the other thing that does need attention is they have not caught up with the 21st century with free wifi in the rooms, all good 5 star hotels around the world are offering this now, and it does make a difference to the stay as we use it to see where to go and what to do in different areas etc etc, and this Novotel charges $29.95 a day!!!!! which is outrageous!!! They do offer half an hour free access in the lobby, but who wants to hang around the lobby, and the wifi is not very strong in the lobby anyway!!!

So although the weather was shocking it was a very pleasant stay, the staff were lovely and helpful, and there is a lot to see and do here in Newcastle. We will definitely be back!

The Petite Bar right next door is really great for a glass of fine red and a plate of cheese, lovely way to spend a rainy evening!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear angelsSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to review Novotel Newcastle Beach, sounds like you struck some fairly average weather!

We appreciate your comments on WiFi, Accor have recently provided complimentary internet for our Le Club silver members, Le club is a fantastic program that provides many benefits so if you have not yet joined (there is no cost) I would highly recommend you sign up.

We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and we hope you will be back to stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

wonderful weekend at the Novotel Newcastle for our wedding anniversary.
the staff were amazing and sorted us out promptly and the room was awesome and had a lovely view of the ocean.
only a 300m walk from the station and 50m to the beach the location was perfect

ate dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the waitress was friendly without being intrusive.
dinner was superb, we had bread rolls, a main each and shared a serve of veggies and followed it all up with dessert.

total food bill after our A+ discount was $67- for the two of us.

all in all this was a lovely time together for our 30th

xxx

Room Tip: there is no swimming pool at this hotel because the beach is so close. there is a spa and a very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing