We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveler rating
398
418
112
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
418
112
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newcastle beach great location steam room beach towels accor member ocean view underground parking walking distance to the beach room service buffet breakfast modern hotel per night room was large good size would stay again hotel restaurant cafes and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 967 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice clean modern facilities at this hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room adequate. The bathroom facilities are adequate only for one person at a time and the lighting is not great for applying makeup if you are heading out. Lovely big shower stall but woefully small shower head and not much water pressure. Hair dryer supplied actually dries hair which you don't often find in some hotels. No bath in the bathroom so if you are expecting a soak you won't get one. All these things are relatively minor but the one thing that rates this hotel down for me is the ill fitting blinds in the room. The room is extremely bright in the morning from 5am on as the blinds do not fully cover the window fittings. The curtains to the balcony overlooking the beach are just adequate.

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank megmeisterrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights, the hotel is well located, close to the beach and the Hunter Street Mall. The room, while a little small, was good. The only minor set back was the bar being closed after returning from the football. Overall a very nice stay.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel whilst in Newcastle for my son's wedding. The location was halfway between the ceremony and the reception. Although the hotel is very nice, I think at $249 Ocean view per night it is expensive for what you get, and the views certainly don't compare to those from Noahs.

The staff were very pleasant and very helpful. Both check in and check out were very smooth. It was a beautiful weekend weather wise, but we wondered how hot it would be in the rooms in summer. We had the air con on full blast and it was still too warm. We had a lot of family staying at the hotel and all the rooms were the same. The rooms varied in size, one of my sons had a huge room at the end of the 5th floor, great for the bridal party to get ready and have photos taken.
The bed was big and very comfortable. It was quiet, couldn't hear much street noise. Main problem we had was only 1 bulb in the bathroom, despite being reported it was not replaced - it made hair and makeup quite difficult as the only other mirror was behind the wardrobe door.
I would certainly stay there again, but would want a better deal. One relative had the same room as us on the floor below and had paid only $107 per night - booked 2 weeks before, where we booked ours 6 months earlier
Bathroom had a separate shower, which is good. I'm not even sure if there was a bath!! Everything was spotless.
I didn't work out if the bar next door was actually part of the hotel, but it was very nice, a good atmosphere, and the food was good.
Overall it was a very pleasant experience.

Room tip: I know that 507 is a very large room. Ocean view rooms have the sun blasting in, so can be warm
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear FussyNSW,
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay over your son's wedding. In relation to the lower room rate that your friend was able to book Accor have been recently running a "Flash sale" for very limited periods with the opportunity to book small numbers of rooms at very reasonable prices, these rooms are on very limited allotments and you need to be very fortunately to book at the right time.
We apologise that the globe was not replaced in your room, this should have been rectified prior to your arrival. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback on Novotel Newcastle Beach, we hope to welcome you back again when next you are in Newcastle.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed overnight in a Superior Ocean View room with balcony on our way back to Sydney from the Gold Coast. We loved this hotel as the room was modern, spotlessly clean with great bathroom with huge shower( no shower over bath which lots offer ), great comfy king size bed, nice flat screen TV with in house movies etc. The view from our balcony was good but not amazing due to a hole in the ground next door - but still good to see & hear the ocean.The location is good as it is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach & lots of great cafes. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was really good, especially with Advantage Plus discount and breakfast buffet was reasonable - nothing spectacular but sufficient. The staff were all very helpful & pleasant. Parking was under the hotel at a charge of $18(I think) but very convenient.I think that we would be happy to return ,maybe for a short break of a couple of nights, as we were overall very pleased with the whole experience.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday-lover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews