We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    370
    103
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
363
41
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For a four star hotel in an Australian regional centre, this hotel scores very highly.
Everything is still relatively new, bright and shiny. The room (harbour view) was well sized and laid out. The bathroom was large and trendy and clean.
Check-in and check- out, both by the young assistant manager, were very quick. He was polite, friendly and very efficient. I must particularly commend him as I have been underwhelmed by service provided in a number of settings in Newcastle over a number of years.
The location was excellent; close to beaches, the harbour entrance and reasonable walking distance to the Honeysuckle development while far enough away from the disaster that Newcastle Mall has become.
We will definitely be staying in this hotel whenever we return to Newcastle.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor had a good view over part of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really liked this hotel.

It's very new, very clean and very modern. The room was spotless with a great view of the sea.

It's on the quiet side of town near the beach and I slept like a baby!

There's free internet kiosks in the lobby and the food in the restaurant was delicious.

Staff are super friendly as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spankyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is right on Newcastle Beach and a short distance from the city centre. We were welcomed with a smile, and couldn't fault the service in Bistro Dalby for dinner or breakfast. The food was excellent and the gluten free request provided no challenge. Our immaculately clean room faced the ocean towards the south east. The balcony would have been great in warmer weather. A small issue for a couple of 'oldies' was the rather saucer like 'lounge chair' which provided no back support.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room with the northerly aspect towards the river would be better in winter, but we had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foacinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Novotel Newcastle is a Very Comfortable Hotel in Great Central Location of Newcastle. We were walking distance to the beach and cafe and restaurant areas. Our room was a corner suite (1408) with a very comfortable king bed and huge floor to ceiling windows facing east and north. Parking is available (extra $$ per night). The modest gym and spa and sauna looked great and we would have used them if we had stayed longer. The receptionist recommended Scratchley's Seafood Restaurant for a special night out and she was spot on. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BlondieandDodgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Newcastle is an easy city in which to navigate and we found the Novotel effortlessly. There was however, no allotted parking area for check in. Luckily, there was two of us so my husband stayed double parked outside while I checked in. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, directing us where to park (Hotel parking $18 per day), and provided an excellent dinner recommendation.
Our corner room was very spacious – comfortable king size bed with crisp, white linen, huge bath plus a shower and a good range of toiletries. The white fluffy towels were new and staff happily provided extra upon request. Bathrobes were hanging in the wardrobe. Tea and coffee making facilities plus a well stocked mini bar was much appreciated. A safe was located in the wardrobe.
We had a side view of the ocean from our room (did not book an ocean view room) which was nice, however there is a construction site immediately behind and adjacent to the hotel. Sleeping in beyond 8am is not possible due to the noise.
The gym has two treadmills, a stepper, upright and recumbent bike, a cable weights machine, a selection of free weights up to 10kg, and fitballs. A steam room and spa completed the gym area. Water and towels are a much needed addition.
The only negative was the bar area – the designer totally missed the mark here! It is brightly lit, has plastic chairs, is cold and has absolutely no atmosphere! It resembles a cheap bus station café! What a let down when compared to the rest of the hotel! After the first night we went to the nearby Noah’s for a pre-dinner drink/nightcap. Sorry Novotel, it’s really not up to standard!
Apart from the bar area the Novotel is a great hotel! We’d certainly stay here again!
HINT – “Thai Sticky Rice” restaurant is located on the corner of Scott and Zaara Streets, just a short walk from the Novotel. It was recommended by the Reception staff.
“Ground Floor Café” on the eastern end of the Hunter Mall has fabulous coffee and unusual breakfast combinations – give it a try!
“Estabar” café is a good choice for breakfast. It is located on the seafront – turn right on leaving the Novotel and then left at the bottom of the steps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear FreoCreatures,
Thank you for your detailed review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such comprehensive comments on the hotel and Newcastle East end surrounds.
In relation to the hotel bar we are looking at options to create a more conducive atmosphere for dining, we are currently working with the owner on plans to make improvements. We are very pleased to hear that you found some of Newcastle gems during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back and stay with us again when next in Newcastle.
Regards'
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing