We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveler rating
387
410
112
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
410
112
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewcastle beachgreat locationsteam roomaccor memberocean viewunderground parkingroom servicebuffet breakfastper nightmodern hotelroom was largewould stay againnice stayhotel restaurantcafes and restaurantscomfy bedstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 948 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For a four star hotel in an Australian regional centre, this hotel scores very highly.
Everything is still relatively new, bright and shiny. The room (harbour view) was well sized and laid out. The bathroom was large and trendy and clean.
Check-in and check- out, both by the young assistant manager, were very quick. He was polite, friendly and very efficient. I must particularly commend him as I have been underwhelmed by service provided in a number of settings in Newcastle over a number of years.
The location was excellent; close to beaches, the harbour entrance and reasonable walking distance to the Honeysuckle development while far enough away from the disaster that Newcastle Mall has become.
We will definitely be staying in this hotel whenever we return to Newcastle.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor had a good view over part of the harbour.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really liked this hotel.

It's very new, very clean and very modern. The room was spotless with a great view of the sea.

It's on the quiet side of town near the beach and I slept like a baby!

There's free internet kiosks in the lobby and the food in the restaurant was delicious.

Staff are super friendly as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spankyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is right on Newcastle Beach and a short distance from the city centre. We were welcomed with a smile, and couldn't fault the service in Bistro Dalby for dinner or breakfast. The food was excellent and the gluten free request provided no challenge. Our immaculately clean room faced the ocean towards the south east. The balcony would have been great in warmer weather. A small issue for a couple of 'oldies' was the rather saucer like 'lounge chair' which provided no back support.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room with the northerly aspect towards the river would be better in winter, but we had no complaints.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foacinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Novotel Newcastle is a Very Comfortable Hotel in Great Central Location of Newcastle. We were walking distance to the beach and cafe and restaurant areas. Our room was a corner suite (1408) with a very comfortable king bed and huge floor to ceiling windows facing east and north. Parking is available (extra $$ per night). The modest gym and spa and sauna looked great and we would have used them if we had stayed longer. The receptionist recommended Scratchley's Seafood Restaurant for a special night out and she was spot on. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BlondieandDodgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews