We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveler rating
398
418
112
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
418
112
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newcastle beach great location steam room beach towels accor member ocean view underground parking walking distance to the beach room service buffet breakfast modern hotel per night room was large good size would stay again hotel restaurant cafes and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 967 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really liked this hotel.

It's very new, very clean and very modern. The room was spotless with a great view of the sea.

It's on the quiet side of town near the beach and I slept like a baby!

There's free internet kiosks in the lobby and the food in the restaurant was delicious.

Staff are super friendly as well.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spankyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is right on Newcastle Beach and a short distance from the city centre. We were welcomed with a smile, and couldn't fault the service in Bistro Dalby for dinner or breakfast. The food was excellent and the gluten free request provided no challenge. Our immaculately clean room faced the ocean towards the south east. The balcony would have been great in warmer weather. A small issue for a couple of 'oldies' was the rather saucer like 'lounge chair' which provided no back support.

Room tip: Perhaps a room with the northerly aspect towards the river would be better in winter, but we had no complaints.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foacinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Novotel Newcastle is a Very Comfortable Hotel in Great Central Location of Newcastle. We were walking distance to the beach and cafe and restaurant areas. Our room was a corner suite (1408) with a very comfortable king bed and huge floor to ceiling windows facing east and north. Parking is available (extra $$ per night). The modest gym and spa and sauna looked great and we would have used them if we had stayed longer. The receptionist recommended Scratchley's Seafood Restaurant for a special night out and she was spot on. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BlondieandDodgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Newcastle is an easy city in which to navigate and we found the Novotel effortlessly. There was however, no allotted parking area for check in. Luckily, there was two of us so my husband stayed double parked outside while I checked in. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, directing us where to park (Hotel parking $18 per day), and provided an excellent dinner recommendation.
Our corner room was very spacious – comfortable king size bed with crisp, white linen, huge bath plus a shower and a good range of toiletries. The white fluffy towels were new and staff happily provided extra upon request. Bathrobes were hanging in the wardrobe. Tea and coffee making facilities plus a well stocked mini bar was much appreciated. A safe was located in the wardrobe.
We had a side view of the ocean from our room (did not book an ocean view room) which was nice, however there is a construction site immediately behind and adjacent to the hotel. Sleeping in beyond 8am is not possible due to the noise.
The gym has two treadmills, a stepper, upright and recumbent bike, a cable weights machine, a selection of free weights up to 10kg, and fitballs. A steam room and spa completed the gym area. Water and towels are a much needed addition.
The only negative was the bar area – the designer totally missed the mark here! It is brightly lit, has plastic chairs, is cold and has absolutely no atmosphere! It resembles a cheap bus station café! What a let down when compared to the rest of the hotel! After the first night we went to the nearby Noah’s for a pre-dinner drink/nightcap. Sorry Novotel, it’s really not up to standard!
Apart from the bar area the Novotel is a great hotel! We’d certainly stay here again!
HINT – “Thai Sticky Rice” restaurant is located on the corner of Scott and Zaara Streets, just a short walk from the Novotel. It was recommended by the Reception staff.
“Ground Floor Café” on the eastern end of the Hunter Mall has fabulous coffee and unusual breakfast combinations – give it a try!
“Estabar” café is a good choice for breakfast. It is located on the seafront – turn right on leaving the Novotel and then left at the bottom of the steps.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear FreoCreatures,
Thank you for your detailed review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such comprehensive comments on the hotel and Newcastle East end surrounds.
In relation to the hotel bar we are looking at options to create a more conducive atmosphere for dining, we are currently working with the owner on plans to make improvements. We are very pleased to hear that you found some of Newcastle gems during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back and stay with us again when next in Newcastle.
Regards'
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews