We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel often for 18 months of the past 2 years, but having not been for 6 months, I was looking forward to a night there.
On check in, I was treated quickly and efficiently with an informed approach to the Accor program (it does get tedious being asked if I am a member whenever I stay at a Novotel) and was given the card to my room.
On entering my room, my heart sank. It has to be the worst room I have stayed in in this hotel ever. It seemed tucked away and was TINY! There was no footrest for the chair as I have experienced in all other rooms, and when I asked for one at reception I was told that it was taken out for cleaning. I went out and there was one in the room in my return, however I wish I had not asked for it as it cut the usable floor space down significantly.
I ordered the pizza for dinner which arrived well undercooked and soggy so I left the (mainly) uneaten portion upside the room on the tray at 7pm. When I left the room the next morning at 730am the tray was still there.
Very disappointing and I will have to assess my options for accommodation for my next few visits.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Adam R,
Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. As you indicated in your comments from previous stays most of our rooms are spacious with wonderful outlooks, unfortunately we do have a few rooms which do not have ocean facing views which you have clearly been allocated. If you are planning a return trip to Newcastle please email me directly on H8771-GM@accor.com so we can ensure you have a nice view.
In relation to the pizza I have forwarded your comments to our Executive Chef, we apologise that the quality of your meal was poor and also that they tray was not collected in a timely manner. We thank you again for providing feedback on your stay.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    359
    102
    19
    17
See reviews for
149
356
40
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away. The service could not be faulted. The staff went out of there way to help us. We stayed in the ocean view room and were treated to a pod of dolphins from our balcony on our last afternoon. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpenhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Kpenhurst,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Novotel Newcastle Beach, thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and service. If you are coming again in Winter it is a regular occurance that the dolphins will be replaced by Whales! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very nice hotel close to the beach. My room faced out on to a construction site and a Spanish Restaurant which was open for a function, so there was some noise. However the room was clean and nicely presented and quite spacious. This does seem to be a quiet part of town and I didn't find much choice around in terms of food - streets were quite deserted. (It was a Monday night)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hoppy3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay! I loved the location and the staff we excellent.
Very efficient and friendly.
I will definitely stay again and tell friends what a great hotel it is!
Thank you to all your staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Angel071061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Angel071061,
Thank you very much for the kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Newcastle, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and as we were going to a concert that night ordered room service to be delivered at 6pm so we didn't have to rush . It arrived on time and was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast the following morning was very tasty and plenty of it. After reading some comments on this site I was a little hesitant but was pleasantly surprised and would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albieviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Albieviolet,
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Newcastle. The new branding for Newcastle is "see change" so we are always hoping to surprise and delight out guests, thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

At reception very polite and friendly, helpful in all areas, rang down for room service, was disappointed with the way the lady addressed the call. If I remember rightly, she did not give me a name and went ah when I asked for extra butter to go with my vegies. Meal was delivered, but no butter. It arrived about 5 mins later approx. Food was delicious. Next day all I could hear was a jack hammer outside, about 8am. Went out for the afternoon. Decided to get take away for tea. On the morning of the 24th, housekeeping intruded while I was still in bed 10.26am. I had organised a late check out for 1pm at reception the previous evening. I departed hotel around 11 45 am. Reception staff on the ball.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank melsowter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as it was the "best" in Newcastle that I could find on the Internet. The Receptionist who helped me find my way (problems with the GPS) was outstanding, otherwise I was disappointed with the stay. The "ocean view" for which I had paid extra overlooked some works and a road before the partial glimpse of the Pacific was seen; the room itself can best be described as "austere" (maybe some would say minimalist). AUD25 per person for breakfast is outrageous, I cannot comment on quality as I was not going to pay this (even in generally-expensive Australia) -- the bikers cafe at Wickham was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear PeterB,
Thank you for the review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms, the designers of the rooms were going for a "beachy" type feel which was clearly not to your taste. Great to hear you found one of Newcastle's many hidden gems in the bikers cafe at Wickham, there are many such places in the city. Thank you again for your review.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing