We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Nearby Hotels
Rydges Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$146
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mayfield Motel(Newcastle)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$122
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
370
393
109
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
393
109
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewcastle beachgreat locationsteam roombeach towelsaccor memberconstruction site next doorocean viewunderground parkingbuffet breakfastroom servicemodern hotelper nightroom was largewould stay againnice staycafes and restaurantshotel restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 908 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Driving down King St, everything seems to be getting shabbier and shabbier, but then you come across the Novotel Newcastle Beach which has a nice view of the water, and is situated in what appears to be a brand new building.

The rooms were very modern and well furnished, and it was a short drive to the concert I was attending at the Newcastle Entertainment Centre. I slept very soundly that night and really enjoyed the breakfast the next morning. Also, because I was there on a public holiday, I was able to park on the street just outside the hotel for free.

If anything was to be criticised, I'd say the shower is a bit of a stupid design. It's an almost flush floor so water goes everywhere with the glass half-door not being able to close.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first visit to Newcastle. The hotel was clean and the front of house staff were courteous and welcoming. The room was simple but ok for a couple on holiday or a business traveller.

Located close to some good cafes, a tapas bar and Nobby's beach, the hotel is a good base from which to explore Newcastle. We considered it was a reasonable walk to downtown and to the harbour restaraunts and bars also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brettounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent location, short walk to the beach with great views. The room was spacious and comfortable. We paid for a harbour view room but their was very little water to be seen. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We caught up with family for the evening and ate dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. Breakfast was equally as good and was included in our package. Great eateries along the harbour. Overall a great time and catch up with family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RHPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel seems to have been renovated. the reception staff are very helpful and the hotel is a 2 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are small and are expensive for what is offered. WIFI is extra. There is an in-house restaurant - did not use it and walked to Darby street instead. The mattress on my bed was lumpy and I had a poor nights sleep - not what one would expect for circa $200+ per night. There is a small Gym - with a limited amount of equipment. Breakfast was good with a large selection. Would have given the hotel 4 stars if the mattress was in good condition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear EricJ123,
Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, the hotel is only slightly over two years old so it is still in wonderful condition, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the mattress, we have recently added toppers to all of our beds so I am surprised that this was not more comfortable. We appreciate you providing us with your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My understanding is that this became a Novotel pretty recently. To be honest. they are not yet up to par with what a Accor Advantage Plus expect from an Accor hotel.
It is good location wise, but i think it is really not worth 200 AUD per night.
I paid more for Ocean side, and the view (which let be clear, was not that good in the first place) came with a price" a construction site just below my window. Maybe they should let one knows when he books or when he checks in? Especially a Platinum member?
The good side: a gem a of a restaurant at walking distance (le Petit Deux)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Patrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear PatriceP,
Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach. We certainly appreciate your feedback in relation to Advantage Plus, we have been a rebranded hotel for the last six months so our staff should have been aware of your Platinum status and allocated a room with a better outlook. We apologise that the stay did not meet your expectations and hope we have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews