We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I chose Novotel Newcastle ocean view room as I wanted a beautiful view of the beach. It was only an ocean glimpse with construction views. I feel very strongly that the room was not worth $275.00 and next time I would choose Noah's. Ooh and I also found a cockroach in the toilet paper...never staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmberS1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear AmberS1303,
Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we are sorry that you did not feel that the stay was value for money. In relation to the cockroach we have a rigorous pest control program, we sincerly apologise that there was an unwelcome pest in your room.
Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Newcastle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 852 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaySydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight at the Novotel Newcastle, everything was good. Large studio room, good tv. Convenient location and underground parking. Restaurants nearby, right near the beach. Recommend staying here for a weekend in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a local this is a great place to stay in town when you have a celebration. Close to some great restaurants and bars. Great for a stroll or ride along the beaches in the morning. Plenty of coffee places in the mall and on the beaches.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, thought it was right on the water by the pictures but it is not. Paid extra for harbour view but only a glimpse through buildings. The room was very clean and a nice decor. We had dinner at the Dalby Bistro and the meal was very very nice. Only problem was the waitress did not write down our order and our vegetables that we ordered with our meal did not arrive. Breakfast was very nice as well. All in all a very nice hotel and would stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSMarty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great beachside location, plenty of restaurants and cafe's close by. Friendly staff with great knowledge of the local area. Large, clean and stylish room but no bath tub. Spa was broken (not all jets working) but there was no sign. Unfortunately no pool or sauna but there is a steam room. Over night parking rate is $18.00 but there is plenty of on street available. Slightly over priced, perhaps if they included breakfast it would be better value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room at I had was very large with a view of the apartments across the road (the old nurses home from the now demolished hospital). The breakfast buffet is very basic and I was not offered any a la carte menu. Parking is $15 per night.

The wifi access charges are nothing short of price gouging. $10 for 2 hours. $25 per day. $60 for 3 days. It should be free like the rest of the world.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank steve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 23 in Newcastle
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 23 in Newcastle
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $137 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing