We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a "view"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Room with a "view"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed for 1 night in this hotel in an ocean-view room. Without wanting to sound like an episode of Fawlty Towers, the "view" was disappointing, a glimpse of ocean over a construction site bounded on 1 side by another building and on the other by a hill and road. The road was so close that I felt rather exposed to cars passing by.
The room was small but perfectly formed with a very comfortable chair and footrest beside the bed. The bathroom was clean and stylish. Room service was fast, efficient and very tasty. The gym looked well equipped for a hotel.
Breakfast was disappointing. The dining area was cramped with the toasters at the entrance so that you had to continually give way to newcomers while waiting for your toast. The range of food was acceptable if not lavish.
This was a rather expensive 1 night stay, and while it wasn't dreadful, it certainly wasn't value for money.

Room Tip: Don't bother with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equivoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    356
    101
    19
    17
See reviews for
147
353
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Hotel is Aesthetically nice in a modern way. nice modern colours and furniture but not a lot of character. Close to the beach and restaurants however I wouldn't rave about the view from our room. Hotel is very clean and staff were very friendly and attentive. The issue is the rooms. again nice decor and a nice bathroom but certainly not worth full price. We had an awful nights sleep the first night as unbeknown to us the bed was missing a castor. Kind of ruined the stay for us and I felt despite a genuine apology we might get offered some compensation as a result of this as this should have been picked up on prior to us hiring the room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nardcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really appreciated the welcome smile and helpfulness of the staff when at 9pm at night, when making the hike back to the ACT from Brisbane. Considering i had no reservation, they were really helpful - with additional complementary help across the board. I was really blown away by their service, great room, and welcome hospitality. Especially when I wandered in from the cold after a long drive in shorts and tee's, and really tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaTTyRaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I recently spent the night at Novotel Newcastle Beach which was only 1 minute walk to the beach and very easy walking distance to shops, restaraunts. The staff were very helpful giving us a map of the area and places to go for a lovely dinner. Every thing was very clean and comfortable as you expect from Novotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of October. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent - large, beautifully decorated and well appointed with a view towards Stockton. It is a shame that the hotel does not have a 'proper' restaurant, but we enjoyed the breakfasts each morning and on the one night when we did decide to eat there, had a very enjoyable meal. The location of this hotel is great - all beaches are a few minutes walk away and it is a short walk to Hunter Street and local shops, bars and restaurants. We would certainly stay here again - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was possibly one of the larger ones. Suggest you ask when booking. Views are best on the No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding.
The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean.
The beds/pillows are so comfortable. slept like a baby.

The location of the hotel is fantastic: across the road from Newcastle Beach and with the Newcastle Harbour insight.

Complimentary champagne on arrival!

Very happy with our stay :)

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatesGotTheTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing