We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room itself was fine with a comfortable bed, although a little noisy due to position facing the street. Harbour glimpses rather than harbour views.
Usual bain-marie buffet breakfast. Standard coffee dreadful. (What is it about Sebel and their coffee??) Although the young guy serving made me not a bad flat white at n/c when I told him how awful the included stuff was.
Overall OK for a short stay business trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    372
    104
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
364
41
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are very spacious and modern, love how they are furnished and in love with the bathroom.

Toiletries are delightful, smell beautiful!

We ordered room service, it was fast and very yummy!

The buffet breakfast in the morning is a bit of a shambles, they never seemed to have enough of everything for example the orange juice was always empty and there were no hash browns for some time.

Would be happy to stay again, a very relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjinx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed the night for a friends party. I had heard lots of good things as this is a new hotel in the city.
The room was fine, a bit of a strange design with all the furniture crammed into one side and a huge space on the other.
But it was nothing special, there was nothing to make it memorable.
I would stay again, it was clean and tidy but not really special.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The so called harbour view room is a glimpse of the harbour entrance not worth the extra money. The buffet breakfast is an absolute joke three juices to choose from,putrid coffee,powered scrambled eggs,no pastries,very limited variety.And you are eating in the lobby.Went to the bar for a nightcap what a nightmare 10 min wait for service 20 min wait for the drink.There are many bars restaurants and cafes surrounding this establishment dine and wine in those.On the positive side the room was spacious clean and very quiet,checking in and out hassle free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Clean and good size room. Check in was quick. Close to cares on beach. Bar next door is good. Had a great dinner in the restaurant and room service breakfast was Devine.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolnMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I had a weekend away in Newcastle in June 2012. The first outstanding thing about this hotel is the service. Fantastic. The hotel is clean, fresh and very stylish. Has a Scandinavian feel to it. Breakfast very good with lots of choices but I would have liked to have the hot chocotate included instead of paying extra. The room was very nice, great view, clean and fresh, although I would have liked to see a bath as well as a shower.
It's very good access to the beach and to the walk to the light house from the hotel.
The gym is not much but nice steam room. A pool would have made it perfect.
I would recommend this place to everyone, in fact am already thinking of next little getaway.
We booked the romantic package with movies, room service voucher and sparkling & chocolates on arrival. Movie selection was great. Lots of new releases. Room service very good and tasty. Chocolates seems to be Lindt Lindor balls on some crushed cooca but they were willing to swap the sparkling to a red instead.

Room Tip: Level 5 nice view of sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After a brisk glorious walk from the hotel front door to the Nobby"s Lighthouse, the buffet breakfast at the Sebel was a sensational way to begin a busy day of meetings.
The bircher meusli was the best I have tried in over 12 months, and the presentation and taste of the hot buffet had the real "wow" factor

Room Tip: Higher floor had a view over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing