We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Beach Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning Beach Position”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a brand new hotel, right on the beach, with a number of good places to eat nearby. The usual inclusions and comforts are provided. The reception service is pleasant, though they’re not awfully good on local knowledge: the nearby backpackers have the real lowdown on best bars, restaurants and activities. Best bet is probably to explore from the square outside the hotel and go in any of three directions towards water. The hotel is as advertised but its position makes it amazingly good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaymartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    362
    102
    19
    17
See reviews for
149
357
40
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I had High Tea here recently. The hotel is lovely, the location great & the venue is ok though a little 'cosy' if you were only one table. Our group had the whole room so that was fine. The food was very nice & well presented, there was plenty to satisfy everyone & a good selection. The only thing I thought was a little mis-timed was that the hot savoury food was brought out well after the sweet things (there were very nice savoury bread rolls already available). It would be great if the room had a view of the beach but the large picture windows overlooked the rear of several blocks of apartments. It was more like a 'meeting room' rather than a room dedicated to High Tea. It's not the Savoy but overall a pleasant experience & everyone I spoke to thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamwar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at the Sebel for 3 nights. Very clean and modern rooms in a perfect location. We got off the train, walked to the hotel and were checking in 5 minutes later. The room was large, very clean and modern feeling. The beautiful beach is a one minute walk and lots of coffee places and restaurants are within minutes. The only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was due to the cost of "extras". We were there for a business trip so don't know the price of the room but were surprised that a roll away bed was $45.00 per night ( it was a good rollaway at least) and to get online to print our boarding passes would have cost just under $15.00 in the lobby (we passed). Also, the pillows that came on the beds were pretty uncomfortable (even though they did have a "pillow menu" but we didn't realize how bad the pillows were until very late so didn't change them). Our view was of another building so couldn't enjoy the ocean due to a highrise in the way. It was fairly quiet due to the room but at night when people were sitting outside at the restaurant/bar their talking went right up into our room (we were on the 3rd floor). We would definitively stay here again; clean, modern, and amazing location!

Room Tip: go high; the windows don't keep the street/courtyard noise out if you are on a lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank offto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had two nights here in a studio room. The room was spotless and so was the bathroom. The reception staff were lovely without being false. We loved our stay and will definitely be back. The hotel is close to everything, beach, harbour & city. We used the gym and found that to be great. Perhaps the only thing we missed was a pool but with the ocean so close we can't complain too much. We didn't eat in the hotel but plan to next time.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get an ocean view room, also ask to be up high if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank america98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just stayed at the Sebel for our 15th Anniversary. A little bit of luxury.

We were very pleasantly surprised at how new, crisp and clean everything was.
We had an ocean view room, and it is literally on the beach.
You are within walking disatnce of everyting Newcastle has to offer, as well as next to great cafe's and restaurants, our favourite "Rustica" Spanish style food next door to the motel.

A delicious buffet Brekky, and parking was included in our $209 price which is exceptionally good value for such a nice place. King beds and comfy pillows. Very quiet didn't hear any other guests TV's or doors banging

We didn't get time to use the spa or gym,We walked upto the Nobby's breakwall and Queens Wharf. A 2 night or more stay would suit someone who wants to explore Newcastle, since we live here we didn't need that!

The only probelem we had was that our security plastic card-key didn't work, but they gave us a new one.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room. If you can afford an ocean side is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thevotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel has great service, excellent location, rooms in good condition, spa and steam room very nice. Only things I could complain about would be size of the meals you receive in their dining room, very small portions for mains for the price.
Having said that the room service meals were of good proportion and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just stayed a night in this delightful property. It sparkles, rooms and furnishings are simple clean and attractive. Room cleanliness was outstanding and we had nice views on two sides. The Sebel is well located and has fine restaurants and bars within easy reach. There are many attractions in walking distance. Staff are helpful and very nice. Check in and out was pleasant easy and efficient.
Definitely a hotel to use again should the need arise...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing