We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed with this hotel. It's in a great location with lots of nice restaurants and a lovely bar next door. We had free parking and a great buffet breakfast included, however the internet wasn't free. The room was extremely large (probably a waste of space really) with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom (no bath but large shower). We stayed on the 2nd level which didn't have a view but I'm sure if you stayed on a higher floor you would most probably get an ocean view. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and will book it the next time we are in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Newcastle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 852 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed at the Sebel for three nights between Christmas and New Year. The hotel is modern and beautiful yet still feels welcoming and comfortable (not always easy to pull off!) Our room was comfortable and large with all the amenities you would expect. The staff could not have been more helpful in recommending tours and restaurants. One of the best things about the Sebel is the location - walking distance to the beach and to restaurants near the harbor. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate (please teach the chef how to make over easy eggs!) as well as parking and the internet. Very nice hot tub and fitness area at the Sebel. Would highly recommend Rustica, a lovely and delicious restaurant next to the hotel. A very nice place to stay in Newcastle with a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nvtravel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Last minute trip so not too many accomodation options. Secured a reasonable deal with Entertainment Book. This was for new years eve so was quite a good deal.

Hotel is located very close to the beach / promenade areas. Walking distance to most tourist hubs in that part of the city.

Parking is an extra cost.

Hotel staff (front desk) during check in etc were fantastic. Very informative, friendly and happy to please. Definitely an asset to the hotel.

Hotel itself is pretty new. Room thus also new. Had all the essentials. Comfortable. Digital airconditioner controls. Did not have a problem with noise coming in to the room despite it being new years eve.
Well cleaned and serviced. None of the toiletries were topped up though.

I will note that there is no bath in the standard room - shower only. Also did not like that the bed was 2 singles pushed together. Also add that there is a spa on site but no swimming pool.


Would definitely return to this hotel. I will note that there appears to be some construction near the hotel- nothing was going on while we were there, but if you planning to visit early in 2012, i would ask the hotel about it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyB_DBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

After searching earlier in the year for accomodation options close to the heart of Newcastle we were pleased to find the Sebel. There haven’t been many accomodation options in Newcastle if you wanted a great location but luckily the Sebel offers an amazing location for a leisurely get away, with a short stroll to nearby coffee shops and the city beaches.

The whole hotel is new, clean and modern. Loved the ipod dock and also the generously sized shower!

It does appear that they still have some teething problems but when we raised these issues with staff they were extremely helpful and responded quickly and positively.

The only real let down was the hot buffet breakfast in the bistro. At different stages, the various hot options were not available as the staff did not anticipate the number of people in the bistro, which wasn’t particularly busy.

We stayed in the Ocean Side Studio. Just to be clear….we could see the ocean but not the beach and we overlooked a construction zone. While this was not an issue with us, it could be for some.

If we have the need to stay in Newcastle again, we would be very happy to stay at the Sebel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungAgain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Sebel is situated close to the centre of town and also a couple of minutes walk from the nearest beach and some nice restaurants. The hotel has an underground carpark which was hardly used.

My wife and I stayed two nights while travelling between Brisbane and Sydney. Having booked our sea view room about two months before, the check in process was completed quickly.

Our room on the 5th floor had a king size bed as requested and was spotless. The en-suite had a walk-in shower but no bath.

Everything in the room worked fine and the air-conditioning is silent which is good news for light sleepers.

We did not use the hotel restaurant as we were meeting friends who live in Newcastle, however we noticed it was well used by other guests/visitors.

The staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Recently stayed in this hotel after the absolutely amazing Elton John concert. But alas the hotel let us down. No water from 11.00pm, which meant no flushing of loos, no showers, no water for tea etc., no water to clean teeth ! This was a huge problem when asked if the manager was around the staff said he/she was not in. In the morning we suggested breakfast might be on the house, they offered 1/2 price breakie, but on my insistance we did get free breakie, served in sloppy manner with grumpy staff. I do understand that things like this can happen, but not once did I get a reply to my email or any sort of "sorry" and I know the other guests felt the same.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NswSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This was our third trip to Newcastle and I am so pleased that finally there is accommodation right on the beach that is worthy of the awesome location and views.

Location - you are on the beach (only a service road separates the hotel from the sand) and you just walk down about 200 metres where there is an alley or two of top quality cafes and restaurants. Otherwise it is a pleasant 5-10 minute walk to Darby Street, the main train station and to the CBD.

The hotel is only a year old and they really invested in going the extra mile with the fitout. We went for the most expensive room (oceanview balcony) and the room is clean, modern and immaculate like an Ikea catalog with some modern furniture that liven up the decor. But you are spending your money here for the view - and it lives up to the hype. There was no bathtub in the room but the shower space was extra large. In fact the highlight of the room was the bathroom - it looked straight out of Architectural Digest. No almond tiling in the bathroom here - all dark (slate?) tiles, creamy ceramic and steel fixtures, and the towels were nice and fluffy.

There is underground parking in the hotel (fee was $15 per night which was very reasonable). We ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was at the upper end of the scale ($35 for mains) but you are paying for convenience and location. Receptionist staff were very helpful and friendly and professional - what you would expect at a 5-6 star hotel.

There is no swimming pool but there are two nice baths on the beach - one is like a mini-beach complete with sand, and the other one is a saltwater swimming pool.

The hotel is located in a brand new leisure complex with a luxury day spa, a couple of cafes/restaurants, and two bars both of which were happening on the Saturday night we stayed there. In particular, the Rustica bar looked like a cross between Belle Epoque and a Mexican tequila hangout - very "right now" and very upmarket.

Highly recommended hotel worthy of the Sebel brand.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 5 floors high. Obviously if you want the ocean views, go for the oceanview balcony...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAG2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 23 in Newcastle
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 23 in Newcastle
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $137 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing