We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot to bring your friends from overseas for lunch on Darby”
Review of The Depot on Darby

The Depot on Darby
Ranked #45 of 562 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice spot to bring your friends from overseas for lunch on Darby”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

he Depot is my favorite place where to bring friends and colleagues visiting Newcastle (me) from overseas. It is on Darby, which is becoming more and more sophisticated, whereby I have no doubt I can satisfy even the most exquisite taste of an Italian woman with real and unique Novocastrian clothing. Just stop at High Tea with Mrs Woo and touch the fabrics, and try the dresses...Obviously, one then wants to dine on Darby and watch people passing by.
The Depot offers a variety of international dishes with a pinch of Australian inventiveness. My Italian visitors (they are more difficult to satisfy than English or Spanish colleagues) were pleasantly surprised by the simple fact that spaghetti were "al dente" and not overcooked and mushi. So, Novocastrians can cook pasta. Good. Salads are also tasty, with fresh ingredients, including seafood. I also like the entrees, with home made brad and dips of herbs and cheese.
The selection of wines by the glass is OK. Thus, I hope the Depot will not move from Darby, an keep its quality, or even improve it. I will keep taking my friends there, and...meet friends...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvia_frisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    75
    32
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, recommended by two friends and we weren't dissatisfied at all. The beef ribs tapas were melt in the mouth quality. Other friends meals were also rated highly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great service and the food is ok”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to the Depot today. It was our first visit.

The service was very attentive, and the decor quite nice. Big stools, really big.

We ordered burgers and fries and a couple of beers. Food came promptly as did the drinks. The burgers were quite nice, and the fries ok. Good size serves.

The menu isn't incredible, just standard cafe gear. I'm not sure this place stands out, but seems like it would be fairly consistent. A little expensive for what it was $54 for 2 burgers, side of fries and 2 beers. That's more a restaurant price than a cafe price to my mind. So the cost is probably the thing which needs improvement.

But a fair few people in there today, so locals must think it's ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theeastendmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Depot on Darby is one of my favourite places. The staff are always welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu is fabulous. It's a great place to meet with friends, family or for a work meeting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Absolutley brillant sunday morning breakfast, very fast clean and efficient service. Great coffee. Not hurried to leave once we had finished our meals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot on Darby also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Greater Newcastle, New South Wales
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Depot on Darby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing