We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #10 of 28 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel has been nicely renovated, however the carpet on the stairs is worn.
We stayed in the twin room without a balcony and 2 blind windows, but it had the advantage of 2 small separate rooms (albeit without a door in between).
The walls must be very thin because we heard our neighbour extensively clear his throat in the morning and the noises from the kitchen below. The carpet was new but stained.
Bathroom was lovely but no shelves in shower and not enough hooks or rails for towels.
Beds very comfy. Furniture already showing signs of wear.
Staff were welcoming and very helpful - thanks Rob!
Breakfast (not included) was very good.
Location is ok but a fair walk from Honeysuckle precinct. Parking is difficult during the day.
I loved the vibe of the hotel but felt $130 was a bit rich for that particular room.
Would come back to check out the queen room though!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoffel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you can..I heard a lot about this place so i decided to take my wife and a friend there for dinner.
Menu is standard Australian pub fare..nothing to get exited about, which was fine...boring old 10 dollar schnitzel etc
We where in pasta mood so a simple Bolognaise and Napoli where the choice...what arrived was the most disappointing meal i have seen for a long time...totally overcooked pasta and absolute tasteless sauces with a bit of Parmesan on top...Friend had a special which looked like a big massive Fishcake with some sauce drizzled and had that whiskas odor with a whiff of Salmon..all in all.. horrible..saw other plates coming out with soggy chips on neighbors table and they complained about the the tough steaks among them self
I also had a chance to glimpse into the Kitchen and to no surprise i saw some poor chefs working in a total old grotty shoe box Kitchen...filthy to the max with piles of unwashed dishes.
Note to Owner or manager..step up your game if you want to be seen as a professional and renovate that disgraceful heap of......Our waitress was nice and pleasant and tried to do a good job
Will not be back there soon or at all and spend my money rather somewhere else and so should you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinergy436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for business. Good value for money, nice old pub, good clean spacious rooms. Location not far from the CBD. Rooms up two flights of stairs, so beware if you have trouble with mobility. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_southbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in the Grand room and loved the feeling of space and light.High ceilings, Comfortable bed, bathroom was adequate, large TV panel with good reception and a balcony you could throw a party on.We ate in the restaurant downstairs and had very good service and the meals were above average.Beware though that the Grand room is above the bar and on a Saturday night the live act resonates through the room.Good news is that the bar closes at midnight and from then on it is peaceful.I imagine that any other night would be fine. All staff we encountered were enthusiastic and ready to please.Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beefster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rooms are passable but avoid the restaurant/bar - the young barmaids are rude and the waitress serving in the restaurant short changed me. The crowd at night seems all local and they seem fine with regulars but are not welcoming to strangers. I booked because of the price and central location but would definitely not book again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location if you want to be by the beach and restaraunts are only a short walking distance. Or if you want you can dine in the pub , very good pub food at good prices, and the staff are very friendly even offering to bring our meals to our room we passed on that but got desert brought up , the manager wad also very friendly. Rooms are small but the balconies make up for it, the bathrooms have been renovated and are nice. We had a double bed which for me was to short as my feet were nearly over the end I'm only just over 6 foot.Just know that its street side pay parking , having the police station next door makes it a safe stay. Overall great place to stay would stay again, looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were really happy with our recent overnight stay here in this lovely old pub. We booked the grand room which was very spacious, bordering on enormous. Loved the huge private verandah which for this room wrapped around the corner - about 30 square metres in area. The bed was very comfy but the bathroom is dated and the over bath/ shower set up is very slippery; a rubber mat wouldn't go astray. There was a mini fridge and microwave if you want to self cater. Really enjoyed the live music playing in the bar when we returned from dinner and when we turned in for the night there was no noise from the pub or from the downstairs night club. A big plus for us was the easy walk to and from the foreshore, no taxis so we saved time and money. My husband's favourite part was the Cooper's Celebration Ale on tap. Will definitely stay again, hopefully in summer so we can stroll to the beach.

Room Tip: Verandah is lovely, I think all but one room open to their own private space. If light bothers you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzgirlNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#2 of 24 in Newcastle
1,068 reviews
1.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Newcastle

Address: Cnr Bolton & Church Streets, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $92 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing