We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Hotel for a Business Stay”
Review of The Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Inn
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The business I work for uses the Gateway as a preferred option for accommodation when travelling to Newcastle. Due to this I have stayed on numerous occasions. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are always nice and clean. I find the reception staff a bit hit and miss - sometimes they are great however I have come across a couple that clearly did not want to be there. I have had rooms at the front and the back of the hotel and noise is never a problem. Overall a good place to stay for business however I would personally not like the location for a holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Luv2holiday, as a regular guest at our hotel we appreciate your feedback..

We are pleased that overall you enjoy your stays with us and find it a comfortable hotel for business travel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my third stay at the Gateway Inn and it continued to meet expectations.
The check in staff were excellent and very friendly.
Stayed in a spa suite this time, well laid out, with plenty of room to move around. Bathroom was well appointed with quality amenities.
Large comfortable bed, everything was clean and worked first time.
Had a meal in the club and the restaurant on the 6th floor. Fabulous quality at both establishments in terms of food and service level.

Room Tip: If you are comparing this hotel to the executive Inn. Gateway Inn is 90% better. The staff are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our property continues to meet your expectations. On your next stay if you have time experience our all new menu at Figtree Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room but the bed was as hard as a board. Still suffering from it! If your looking at a spa room be aware the spa (bath tub) is tiny! We must have had some type of vent above our room so when it started raining through the night all you could hear was very loud raindrops on tin. Very annoying! I wouldn't stay again because of the bed which is a shame!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 2kdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased that you thought the Gateway Inn was beautiful. However, we are concerned that you found the bed uncomfortable. Our feedback is always very positive about our beds and especially our pillows. At the Gateway Inn we strive to exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 1 night based purely on price. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the size of 1 bedroom apartment. Clean and comfortable, we were on the 5th floor on a Thursday night and had no issues with noise. We were missing 2 towels with reception delivering within minutes. Due to time restrictions we did not utilise the club or its facilities. Free parking an added bonus!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you and your family were pleasantly surprised with our rooms and facilities.

Hopefully on your next stay you can utilise more of our on site facilities. The Balance Health Club offers group fitness classes and also has a creche for the children to be entertained.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is the overwhelmingly strong smell of the airconditioning. So strong it nearly made me vomit. The building is hermetically sealed and so has no fresh air. A change of rooms did not make a difference. I felt ill the whole evening. Apart from this the hotel is nice.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 3 night family deal and stayed with our newborn baby. First opinions were that the place was very modern with very few guests. I write this review some weeks later as we have just noticed we were charged twice. Once through Wotif and the other directly by the hotel. For a new family especially $455 is a lot of money to pay interest on, we are just lucky we noticed it in time. I will be contacting the hotel tomorrow, however it is likely to take a few days for the funds to be returned.

Checking In: The gentleman was polite and explained the services, room and leagues club. The older gentleman at the clubs foyer was absolutely delightful!! He explained everything about the club.

Room: Very clean, crisp and modern. We had the apartment and it was more than enough room. Our keys would not work at first and after having them reissued only worked on one door. The adjoining door to access the apartment side was locked on arrival. We were really looking forward to watching a movie in the room. However, the service would not work and 3 phone calls later to reception we never gained access nor an apology.

Location: The adjoining leagues club was great for us with a small baby. It was only a brief walk to have dinner then back to our room. We drove to Darby St for a bit of shopping and went for walks around Newcastle. We enjoyed the location. We discussed eating at the hotel restaurant but it was too expensive for us.

PROS: Very spacious, clean and crisp. Restaurant staff and club staff were really lovely. Very quiet location when we stayed. The adjoining leagues club was really great.

CONS: Access to the apartment door was locked but resolved. Keys did not work first time. Reissued cards only worked on one door. Charged twice at $455. In room movies did not work, never resolved nor apology received. Gentleman on the reception at the time was very disappointing. He did not seem to care at all. He just said he would try again to fix it. I asked if there is anything else that can be done. No. I at least thought he should have offered to have IT look into it or try to have it fixed for the following night. Nothing.

HOTEL CONTACTED: I used the hotels website to provide feedback regarding the in room movies and the lack of help from their staff member. I never received a response acknowledging that my feedback had been received or taken on.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank AQuinlan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we do apologise that there were a few hiccups with keys and double charging of room of which was all rectified very promptly. In regards to the TV, the TV had to be completely replaced and required a new purchase and installation as the apartment has two TVs there was still an option to watch TV, even thought the Movies were not available.

Overall I read that you had a good time and enjoyable stay and we hope that on the next occasion that everything will be in order, our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Accommodation: Couple in a Friday night stay with the "Brazilian Affair Package" in a spa suite. Package included 'El Grande Churrasco' dinner for two at the Figtree Restaurant on the sixth floor.

Our room was a corner spa suite on the fourth floor (4416). Very clean and modern, the bathroom was spacious and features a one person spa bath and a double headed shower. Frosted glass separates the bathroom from the bedroom. A desk with free (wired) broadband is also located in the room along with a small bar fridge (with freezer compartment) and tea and coffee making facilities. No wifi apparent though we didn't enquire further when we couldn't find it. A TV was provided however we didn't use this and there didn't appear to be a DVD player, though I saw a movie channel advertised.

Unlike other reviews, even though our corner room overlooked the main road we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. Maybe due to being on the fourth floor?

Only one very small quibble was a very loud bathroom fan which kicks in automatically when you switch on the bathroom light. Bound to wake up a sleeping partner if you turn on the light during the night.

The king bed was comfortable, crisp sheets and most importantly, clean.

The front desk staff were professional and courteous. Kate was very helpful even though she apparently had just started working there.

The private car park is a bonus, overall we found the hotel clean, well appointed and modern with professional and helpful staff.

We didn't end up going down to have the hot breakfast as we were much too full from the amazing Churrasco dinner the night before! Figtree Restaurant is definitely a must visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow more privacy if your room happens to be overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 806kristyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
3.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
856 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 24 in Newcastle
366 reviews
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#10 of 24 in Newcastle
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Inn

Address: Corner Industrial Drive 26 William St | Mayfield, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $126 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing