We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and simple accomodation”

BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Newcastle B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Clean and simple accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed here for a night as we had a tour to the Hunter Valley for wine tasting. It is a very small hotel and has a couple of shops close by. It has its own bar which can be quite busy. The town itself was fairly quite. The room was compact but clean and had its own fridge. It is smell a bit damp at first, but this went away after a while when the A/C was on. The room had tea/coffee sachets but it was missing the cups and saucers - so we weren't able to have a drink. The reception was freindly - although there is no space for waiting (eg.waiting for coach pick up). There is parking available behind the hotel - although not the best signage to indicate who the parking is for.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _En__Kay1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
32
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

Beautiful rooms - like you'd expect from a quality resort, but at a great price. Hotel seems to have been recently refurbished, and finished with good quality. Service was friendly. Location is central for Newcastle. Best sleep I had on this trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We found this small complex to be of excellent value and the service from the owner was more than what we expected of a busy person. We were staying in Newcastle as we had my Nephews wedding to attend. We booked taxi 2 hours before we needed it and then had a panic attack when no taxi arrived and hotel staff couyld not get through to them on telephone. The owner came and spoke with us and said he would get his car and take us there. He got us to the church a couple of minutes before the bride arrived.

Room was very tidy and bed was great. We stayed 3 nights and the room was cleaned spotlessly each day and staff worked around our timings so they left us alone while we got ready for wedding.

There is a beautiful european style deli/cafe next door that is crowded most mornings and the food is fantastic. Worth eating at which we did each morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nohjtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights based on reviews from Tripadvisor. We used to live in newcastle so we knew our way around. The Blackbutt Inn is about 5-10 min from town which is fine if you have a car but you'd rather stay closer if you didn't. We booked our room through Lastminute and payed $135 AUD tot. per night for bed and breakfast for the both of us. The hot breakfast is adequate but not overly big. For the price however, it's great.

The rooms are modern and clean. Our room was above the kitchen and smelled like smoked backon. This made for an uncomfortable first night as we couldn't open the windows (they are double glazed and sealed to reduce noise from the pub downstairs). We complained the next morning and we were moved to another room which was fine.

Overall, we had a positive experience at the Blackbutt Inn and as far as value for money goes, it is outstanding. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It seems like the management have placed particular emphasis on customer service. If you were willing to spend a bit more per night to stay in town, I'd recommend the Clarendon Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights for work at the nearby shopping centre. Didnt do much else so cant really comment on the location, but for my purpose it was awesomely located.

But it is new & I can very highly recommend. Everything is perfectly clean & staff were very friendly.

Free internet is a huge bonus & the food in the pub was pretty good.

All in all, it is one of the better motels in Australia that I have stayed and extremely good value if you need somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Had a spur of the moment urge to get away for the weekend and decided the destination was Newcastle. I was surprised to find vacancies ANYWHERE as it was Wednesday when I made enqueries. My first contact with the hotel was polite, professional and concise, giving me accurate directions to the location prior to concluding the call.
We arrived at 2:00 p.m. to be greeted by Alicia. I was impressed at how friendly, professional and helpful she was. The service and assistance she provided could have alone made for a great stay. She proved to have excellent local knowledge, recommending several restaurants, activities and attractions, advising the quickest, easiest routes to each. She also offered to download menus for whichever restaurant we chose, provided it was available, and make bookings for us as well.
The room was standard sized, well-appointed, modern and spotless. The room had a 81cm LCD television with Foxtel Satellite TV connected and broadband internet connection (not wireless). The queen sized bed was very comfortable and made for a good night's sleep. Although the room was nearly above the pub, it was quiet enough to fall asleep easily.
Room service was prompt and the food was average, as was expected. Breakfast consisted of an item from the restaurant's breakfast menu, as well as a generous continental breakfast buffet. The service in the restaurant was prompt and courteous and the breakfast buffet was kept well stocked.
Secure parking was available in the form of a locked yard with more than enough spaces as well as 7 spaces in the underground car park.
Well deserved 4 stars for the facilities, rooms, service and especially the staff, who went out of their way to make this stay as enjoyable as possible. WE WILL RETURN!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsport75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed one Saturday night and this is what I found:

- Clean quality hotel room - the type you'd expect to pay $150+ for. Having paid $99 to stay at another Best Western in Mayfield (see my other review), the extra $10 paid for this room was like jumping from 3/10 to 10/10! Absolutely worth it!
- Comfy bed - fell asleep right away!
- Quiet location, even though located next to a pub
- Friendly staff
- Good location - within walking distance of the best bakery in Newcastle (Euro) and other amenities

The only things I'd like to mention:
- There is free broadband in the room, but this doesn't appear to be wireless and there is a blue connector cord provided in the room, which worked well with one laptop that had the slot for the cord, BUT my tiny netbook doesn't have the right connector and so I couldn't connect it to the internet.
- Hotel was a little hard to find - went past it once and then ended up going in via the pub. It was only retrospectively that I found the sign reading "RECEPTION"(!) No matter - not a biggie.
- Check-out time is 10am - just found that a little too early, having to check out when I'd woken up after 9am Sunday morning... Would've been perfect if this could be changed to 11am at least...

So far one of the best and affordable hotels in Newcastle! Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbopumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
1.0 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.4 mi away
Merewether Motel
Merewether Motel
#2 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn
Address: 80 Orchardtown Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2305, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Blackbutt Inn is a recently renovated property that has all the modern and comfortable requirements expected of today's traveller.The Hotel has an onsite Restaurant open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Lounge and Sports bars, Beer Gargen, Bottle Shop, TAB and Keno facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blackbutt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing