We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lions Rubgy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are from the UK and came for the rugby Lions tour. We found the rooms through an internet search last minute. This proved problematic as the booking agent did not confirm. However, the staff Chifley could not have been more helpful in trying to find out what happened to our booking. We were lucky that they had a last minute cancellation and were given this room although at a price. The room was spacious, clean and the beds very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer. The food at the Dockyard was really good and the staff there were also very pleasant. In all the staff made our short stay very comfortable in what could have been disastrous. They also recommended the Chifley at Lennons where we stayed when we travelled to Brisbane. Time for another review.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 429 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

The apartments are large and new and well appointed. The hotel has conference facilities, a gym and a pool. They charge for WIFI. A nice touch is the free rental of DVD movies. they have a small dinning room that provides breakfast. The only problem is the constant noise from the railway line - if you are a light sleeper this is not for you. The main drawback is the bed that is tucked into a very tight partition behind a glass sliding door. There is no natural air flow into the room nor is there aircon. The room gets stuffy and if you are claustrophobic - beware. If it were not for the strange sleeping configuration I would have given the place 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, General Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear EricJ123, Thank you for staying at our hotel and we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We also would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel as we appreciate the feed back that we get from our guests. We look forward to you staying with us again when next you visit Newcastle.
With kind regards, Peter Bromilow, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location, walking distance to Newcastle CBD, railway , beach etc. I like this type of arrangement because it is a cut above a normal hotel room and space extras like balcony, washer, full cooking facilities but the only drawback would be the bed tucked behind a glass partition fine for one, but could cause probs for two if one is an early riser etc

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigmcgrath66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Craigmcgrath66,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Serviced apartments are a great alternative for travellers who require extra space and the added conveniences of home such as full kitchen and laundry facilities. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I accompanied my husband on a business trip, he's stayed here numerous times before but it was my first time. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 1st floor overlooking the courtyard/open air mall and on the pool side. Initial impressions were good: spacious living room, nice balcony, big TV and good lighting. The glass-partitioned bedroom was nice but small with the queen bed taking up most of the room making it difficult to get around it in the dark of night .. but the bed was very comfy providing a good night's sleep. The air-con was quiet and we had it going every night of our 3 night stay. The bathroom didn't have a vanity or shelf/ledge to put toiletries on which I consider to be a letdown! Again on the negative side, as a previous reviewer said, the towels are rather thin and small. Also you couldn't have the shower pressure too strong as it tended to flood the bathroom floor .. I found this out the hard way on the first night.

On the positive side, Reception staff were friendly and helpful and considering these are serviced apartments not a hotel, Reception is manned 24 hours. When we had an issue with a dirty towel left in the bathroom on our arrival, the issue was resolved promptly and to our satisfaction. We didn't mind paying for the carparking .. it is undercover and the weather was atrocious when we stayed, and besides, it is still cheaper than street parking! We never use hotel wi-fi, preferring to bring our own 'hotspot' for internet. We didn't take up the breakfast option, rather took our own cereal etc from home and ate in our apartment. The location of Chifley Apartments is great! Honeysuckle precinct for restaurants, cafes etc. is on the doorstep (eating at The Dockyard or Scratchley's you can put your bill onto your Chifley tab), Civic railway station is right by and Hunter Street Mall only a 10 minute walk away.

Summing up, yes, we'd stay again and recommend Chifley Apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeverYoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear ForeverYoung50,

Thank you for your objective and balanced review. I acknowledge that vanity units in the bathrooms would have been much more practical than the pedastal basins we have. We are aware that the fall of the tiles in some of the showers allows water out of the shower cubicle and we have been working to get this issue resolved. Please accept my apologies for this.

I am pleased to read you found the staff friendly and helpful, that the location was convenient for your needs and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel some time in the future.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A good quality hotel for business, all the facilities, close to train station and excellent bars and restaurants.

Apartments are a little bland and don't have WIFI but otherwise a acceptable standard.

Always come here when staying in Newcastle overnight, easy to book on line and a central location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear GriffinFamily4,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and location. Thank you also for choosing the hotel again on your return to Newcastle. I can confirm that there is a wireless hotspot in the building with a variety of usage plans, our reception team can provide you with the details when you next visit. I hope that we see you again soon.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at these apartments recently and was very impressed. Scrupulously clean, modern, and service was excellent. I stayed in a one bedroom suite and was very comfortable. I was on a business trip so was there on my own, and it is most definitely a cut above the standard business hotel - and for about the same money.

I have read a couple of negative reviews amongst the many good ones, and I must say you'd have to be extremely hard to please if you didn't find this place a cut about the rest. Just remember these are Serviced Apartments, not hotel suits. If you are looking for a four and a half star hotel with 24 hr room service, concierge and a classy restaurant this is not the place for you. However, if you want that little bit of independence that comes with a fully equipped kitchen, larger than average living space and a separate bedroom, and right next door to the very pleasant Honeysuckle Wharf promenade, then read on. I recommend this place for families with kids in the two bedroom apartments, a couple wanting a quiet weekend away in the one bedroom, or the business traveller.

The location is brilliant. Literally across the road is the Honeysuckle Wharf promenade with a string of restaurants and bars catering for all tastes - you can find something for the kids at the ice creamery, Hogs Breath or any number of restaurants all in short strolling distance. In the mornings take a great walk all the way to the lighthouse along waterfront path or garden all the way - spectacular on a fine day.

My experience of the service was excellent. The reception staff were extremely helpful, and I couldn't fault them for anything.

Yes, parking is more expensive than average, but keep in mind you are paying for the location - right in the centre of the business precinct, but on the water's edge. If you were paying for street parking you'd pay about the same.

In summary, lots of pluses and only a few negatives:

- Extremely Clean
- Reception staff extremely helpful (again, reminder these are Serviced Apartments not a hotel)
- Location is fantastic by the water and close to business
- Right on the train line if you want to travel further afield and catch a train back.
- Rooms modern, well equipped, full size kitchen

The only cautions:

- Parking costs upper end of average
- Internet costs are outsourced to a private company and is ridiculously expensive. Use your own 3G access off your phone tethered to your computer - much cheaper.

Definitely recommended - I'll be back next business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear ALLThngsWk2gthr,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Chifley Apartments. I am delighted that the hotels facilities and services met your needs and that you found the service excellant and value for your travel dollar.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I were very happy with our experience at Chifley.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, greeting you warmly when you arrive.
The rooms are adequately fitted out, clean, with a decent kitchen and comfortable bed.

The location is fantastic, just a quick walk over to the waterfront where you have an array of good restaurants to choose from.

Great place for a short trip or extended stay, and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knomestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Knomestar,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Chifley Apartments. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 24 in Newcastle
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Apartments Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Address: Chifley Apartments 14 Honeysuckle Dr | Building 7, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: $145 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Apartments Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Apartments Newcastle is AAA rated 4.5 Star and offers a modern and spacious alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. Our one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained with spacious living areas and private balconies which are complemented by the hotel’s fully equipped gymnasium and outdoor heated lap pool. Catering to guests requiring overnight stays as well as accommodation for extended periods, those additional features so often overlooked provide for a comfortable extension of home for regular travellers. Those extra touches include onsite security parking. A DVD library, barbecue, shopping service, dry cleaning, and restaurant chargeback at local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chifley Apartments Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing