We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Melbourne
Level Contributor
169 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a great area for a holiday!! Apartment was a two bedroom on the 6th floor, Reasonable views, noise from trains, boats, helicopters was a concern thru the night. But what the!!!
Rooms big and clean, Beds Great, all the bits and pieces you would need for a long break,Brekky strange? Eggs but no bacon, Unit was facing city maybe beeter facing wharf area????

Room Tip: As stated maybe facing wharf area would be better than looking at train Line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Gazzz 1

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you found the area a great place for a holiday. I hope the sounds of the city did not impact your stay too much. Unfortunately we don't have a restaurant at the hotel although some guests do opt to have breakfast in one of the cafes nearby. Our aim with breakfast is to provide a good continental selection which is quick and meets the needs of most guests and at $15 per person we believe it represents good value. I note that you have mentioned the outlook from your apartment, regretably we do not have any harbour or wharf views only urban/city views. Thank you again and I look foward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Newcastle.

kind regards

Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    133
    61
    24
    21
See reviews for
70
106
12
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good location and quite cheap (although we did get the room on Wot if - the standard rates are pricey for what it is). Car parking available underneath. Decent option and close to a few small pubs and restaurants. I would stay again for a short stay. Not massive luxury but nice, clean and modern.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Rob S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Chifley Apartments. I am pleased to read that you were able to secure a great rate online and that our facilties met your needs. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Large clean apartment which was a good agood price (business rate). Worth giving it a try as its in a convenient spot.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Asterix2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here on business several times and brought the amply ack for a short vacation. Great location! Had a nice two bedroom, two bath apartment.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GigSn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear GigSn3,

Thank you for your post. I am delighted that our Penthouse Apartment suited your needs and I look foward to welcoming you back when you next visit Newcastle.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had business at the RAAF base at Williamtown. This was a great place to come back to. Close to Newcastle's best parts, including best restaurant strip by the river. Also close to train station. Did you know it is only $8.20 one way, full fare, to Sydney? Scenic trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walknuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Walknuts,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to read that you had some time to enjoy some of the many great restaurants on the Honeysuckle Boardwalk and as you say the train provides a great value transport option and a pleasant journey from Sydney with the Civic train station only 200m from the hotel.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
269 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Good quality hotel, ideal for business travel, excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear GriffinFamily4,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you had pleasant stay and we look foward to welcoming you back when you next visit Newcastle.

Kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have stayed a number of times at Chifley Apartments and still find them the best option when visiting the Wickham and Honeysuckle areas of Newcastle. The location is great for connections by train, as it is only a couple of hundred metres from Civic station. The rooms are spacious and modern. There is a good range of restaurants nearby. The service is professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear TassieDi,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotels location, that the facilities met your expectations and that the service was friendly and professional. On behalf of the team thank you for recognising their efforts. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Apartments Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Property: Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Address: Chifley Apartments 14 Honeysuckle Dr | Building 7, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Apartments Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Apartments Newcastle is AAA rated 4.5 Star and offers a modern and spacious alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. Our one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained with spacious living areas and private balconies which are complemented by the hotel’s fully equipped gymnasium and outdoor heated lap pool. Catering to guests requiring overnight stays as well as accommodation for extended periods, those additional features so often overlooked provide for a comfortable extension of home for regular travellers. Those extra touches include onsite security parking. A DVD library, barbecue, shopping service, dry cleaning, and restaurant chargeback at local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Apartments Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing