We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Scotties

Scotties
Ranked #69 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Scotties Seafood & Bar is a family owned local business located in the iconic, Newcastle East. Boasting ocean views and a short walking distance from historical sites such as Fort Scratchley and Nobby's Lighthouse. The restaurant features a beautiful alfresco dining area under the palms and is a stones throw away from the beach. Enjoy the relaxed elegance of the restaurant and bar with family and friends. Scotties prides itself on sourcing fresh, local and sustainably caught seafood. A fresher, healthier twist on traditional fish and chips. The menu focuses on seafood in a share plate style, taking inspiration from the Mediterranean.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had such a bad experience I will never go back. The Iron Lady is so rude and condescending . The food is ordinary and very expensive. For our $39 mains we got to sit on very uncomfortable
old picnic tables and chairs! Could not believe it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner70, Manager at Scotties, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
.


Hi Gary, were very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to Scotties. We do agree with you about the outdoor tables, new ones are on the way. We have had such a busy summer they really do need replacing.
Our prices do reflect the cost of our quality produce. We aim to buy our seafood & fish locally and it is always more expensive than imported seafood. However, not all our meals are expensive, our meals range from between $ 22 - $38 . It is our policy that if you don't like your meal, we are happy to cook you something else. We love what we do at Scotties, and really want you to enjoy your experience with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    59
    21
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced terrible food.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had the egg and bacon rolls and a serve of chips. Most of it ended up in the bin. Bacon was of questionable origin and really fatty, & the rolls were soggy and covered in
sauce. As for the chips they looked and tasted like they were reheated from 3 days ago. Definitely wont be going back. Waste of time and money!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner70, Manager at Scotties, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Alisha, Sorry that you didn’t like our Bacon and egg rolls and hand cut chips. We do charge $ 8.50 for the rolls as we use 2 free range eggs and the bacon is hand cut & double smoked. We will always happily trim the bacon for you if asked. We leave the skin on our hand cut chips and double cook them. They are very different to the frozen variety, but very popular at Scotties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had to wait a long time, but the food was excellent”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Well, consistent with other reviews on line, we had to wait an hour for our meal!! Well, we were virtually eating the table wear when our meal finally arrived. The prawns were incredible, the salt and pepper calamari were the most tender we had ever had. Possibly we were just starving, but one of the best seafood meals in a long time. Lovely relaxed setting. Will return (but maybe order starters to stave the hunger pains).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielledines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited Scottie's for breakfast while staying in Newcastle. The food was very nice and will go again in the not too far distant future. The only problem I had was the service was a bit slow and they had forgotten our coffees.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast in Newy”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

After reading various mixed reviews about Scotties, we thought we'd try it out for ourselves. Each time we visited, we went for breakfast and were typically there quite early - therefore avoiding any crowds. The first thing that grabbed me was the refreshing breakfast menu, a nice change from the typical bacon/eggs/thick cut toast menus dominating Newcastle breakfast menus. The first time, my wife and I both ate the veggie breakfast - which included a great house made hash brown/rosti as well as a nice big field mushroom and other bits and pieces. On our second visit, I went back for the Veggie breakie again, while my wife tried the scrambled eggs with rainbow trout. We really rate the veggie breakfast, while the eggs and trout were nice, however didn't set the world on fire. Didn't try the other dishes available however there looked like some nice choices. The coffee was good and nice to see that they didn't kill the flat white with too much milk and bad crema. Price wise, this isn't the cheapest place for breakfast. Would be happy to eat there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotties also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scotties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing