We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A premier restaurant”

Jonah's On The Beach
Ranked #44 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Relax and enjoy our magnificent ocean views... Jonah's On the Beach offers a food and beverage service of the highest calibre. We will cater to your needs to the level you require from a romantic dinner for two to parties, weddings and corporate functions. Open 7 Days for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Full Buffet Breakfast - $28.00 Per Person
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A premier restaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

As a local, I've been to Jonah's many times. On a recent visit, I found it to be just as good as ever. The food is first class (even though the servings are a little on the small size) and the desserts are to die for! The excellent service and wonderful location make Jonah's a great place for a special occasion. Lovely views over the beach and ocean from most tables, but the highly prized ones closest to the windows are the best. On past visits I've watched whales breaching out past the breakers.
A 'must do' for your stay in Newcastle.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryY43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    73
    32
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland NSW
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and atmosphere led to a very romantic evening!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful food, service, atmosphere and view!
My partner and I had a wonderful time!
Very classy restaurant indeed, made me feel very special ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I went for dinner with friends and we had a great time.
Service, scenery and atmosphere made our night. Menu had a good mix of options & wine list is expansive.
Our meals came out promptly without fuss and were of great restaurant standard. Probably the best dining experience in Newcastle for us thus far.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful location and beautiful food. Service is faultless and nothing is too much trouble. The staff are attentive without being overbearing and I can't wait to go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT FOOD GREAT LOCATION OVERLOOKING OCEAN”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'm a local Novocastrian and visit Johah's On The Beach several times a year for special occasions. There is not one bad thing I can say. It's simply fabulous. From the ambience of the restaurant overlooking beautiful Newcastle Beach to the amazing food and the fabulous staff. We've been going there for many, many years for both lunch and dinner. There has never been a time when we've been unhappy. It's a special place for my husband and I. We just love everything about it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinnylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonah's On The Beach also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Jonah's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing