We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Occasion Restaurant”

Jonah's On The Beach
Ranked #50 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Relax and enjoy our magnificent ocean views... Jonah's On the Beach offers a food and beverage service of the highest calibre. We will cater to your needs to the level you require from a romantic dinner for two to parties, weddings and corporate functions. Open 7 Days for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Full Buffet Breakfast - $28.00 Per Person
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A Special Occasion Restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Jonah's on the Beach is our favourite special occasion restaurant with its wonderful atmosphere, stunning view and superb service. Christmas Lunch and Valentine's Day Dinners are a specialty if you enjoy something a little out of the ordinary.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    75
    34
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Jonahs at Noahs”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is my restaurant of choice for all special occasions. Overlooking the Pacific Ocean makes the food, wine and service even better. At all hours of the day this is a place to be. I always find the staff friendly and helpful. Recently I had a lift off lunch for when my husbands ashes went into space.The chef created a special space shuttle dessert which not only looked good but tasted magnificent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great experience with superb beach views”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Excellent discrete, professional service, great meals and superb views (in daylight of course)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jonah's is excellent dining”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our experience at Jonahs was nothing short of outstanding and we want to communicate this to everyone who reads this review. We live in Redhead, south of Newcastle, and we had visitors coming from Sydney and Adelaide so we wanted to give them a very special experience. To give you some background, we first met our friends in September/October last year on a Scenic tour through eastern Canada. We struck up an instant rapport so we wanted to really look after them when they visited Newcastle. We could not have chosen a better venue that Jonahs. We used Trip Advisor to review other restaurants that we had some knowledge of - Scratchleys and Rustica. Jonahs was the obvious choice for all the right reasons. We asked for a table for six by the window which was there for us on arrival. The service was impeccable - thoroughly professional, smiling, unpretentious and nothing was too much trouble even down to a last minute request for champagne as one of our lady guests had her 68th birthday on the day. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Some staff who are deserving of commendation and mention: Larissa, food and beverage supervisor; Bernard, assistant restaurant manager; Natasha, waitress. We may have omitted some but the whole team in that restaurant deserves thorough congratulations. Oh, the food: we chose from the set menu - two or three courses which were absolutely to die for particularly the desserts. There will be no doubt that we will be going back and we have absolutely no hesitation in passing on our recommendations regarding Jonahs. It leaves so many other restaurants in Newcastle for dead so have no doubt about making a reservation in this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Newcastle”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Jonah's is my favourite restaurant in Newcastle, and it didn't fail to live up to my expectations on this visit. The staff are extremely friendly and professional, and the food was just fantastic, the set menu is great value, and the perfect view just tops off an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonah's On The Beach also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Jonah's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing