We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend with the family!”
Review of Madison Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Spa Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Moama
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great long weekend with the family!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Moama-Echuca are great location for a long weekend away from Melbourne and the Madison Spa resort was playing a major part in the success of our weekend. The Spa rooms are big, spa is just lovely next to the window where the trees are your view. Bed was very comfy, clean and tidy. We enjoyed the pool and the spa as well. The only disappointing part in the resort was the restaurant which is overpriced and over cooking the food. Enjoy the hotel but keep away from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Book the family rooms months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    78
    58
    25
    21
See reviews for
31
173
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The spa in the bath house was rank. It had a film of greasy stuff on the surface. I also think it was meant to be salt water but they might put chlorine in it because its probably cheaper for them to maintain that way as it seemed like a chlorine and salt smell. Totally disgusting after getting out we all had spots come up on our faces and bodies that lasted for several hours. We didnt realise it was from the spa until the second time we got the rashes after getting in the second time. The shower in the room obviously once had a screen but no longer, you could see where it once was but they now have it gone so water gets all over the tiles where the toilet is. Also when paying to stay somewhere you expect to be able to use the pool, bar etc but we werent allowed to because they closed it off for their own personal use. If we had of been warned we would have stayed elsewhere. The room did have a lovely gas log fire and the bed was comfy and so were the views, the spa was nice but whenn paying for a spa room its not pleasant to have the hours you are allowed to use it be dictated to you. Also pretty sure they use generic shampoo soap etc in dispensers rather than giving guests little bottles where they can see the brand used. I thought resorts had gyms too but this does not have a gym. Also a bbq would have been nice of there was one to use. And they have the worst coffee ever. We are from Melbourne where there is a sophisticated coffee culture, the stuff they passed as coffee was awful so i would recommend taking your own and a plunger and your own cutlery because there is only tea spoons in the rooms, we ordered pasta from the pizza shop one night and we had to eat it with tea spoons because they closed reception at 4pm and we forgot to ask the pizza place to include a plastic fork for us

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trishjac, Manager at Madison Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Re Complaint Dec 5.12.11.

We at Madison Spa would like to take this opportunity to answer your concerns in your letter to trip Advisor, we feel that we can help to clear up your concerns, I will address these one at a time.

 Spa: Our Spa is chlorine not salt this is due to the fact that we are not permitted to use salt on an indoor pool due to the health regulations, these are cleaned every morning 7 days a week, we are unaware of the greasy surface you mention as we have not seen this ourselves and as I mentioned we are constantly checking and cleaning the pool & spa area.
 The Showers in rooms: These have never had shower screens on them, this is quite common in a lot of motels as I have seen for myself, as for the water splashing out this does tend to happen if the head of shower is pointed out at a certain angle, I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
 I will also apologize for the inconvenience caused on Sunday afternoon. The pool area was closed due to our Work Christmas party, this is the only time all our staff can get together as our restaurant is always closed on Sunday evenings and we do close the main building early on this day also. All guest were told prior that we would be closed, I am sorry if this was not made clearer to you.
 Shampoo etc in rooms: We do buy these from a company called Jean Charles, they are in no way a cheap brand, we also sell some of their product at the front desk such as their Emu Oil. This company does supply many Motel / Hotels throughout Australia.
 Spa Times: These signs are there for all guest information and comfort, due to our setting along the Bush Land the noise from the spa’s tends to echo and this does disturb other guest, we do try to accommodate all guest needs as well as in keeping with the tranquil setting of the bush land and wild life.
 Coffee: The coffee we use in the rooms is of good quality, we do normally use Nescafe which is a highly recognized brand, and unfortunately it may not be to everyone’s liking.
 Knives / Forks: These are not supplied as there are no cooking facilities in the room. You may request these from reception along with any other requirements you may need.

We at Madison Spa at all times would like our guest stay to be a pleasant and memorable one and always try our best to accommodate the needs of everyone. We do apologize if you feel you where treated any less than this and do hope that you will join us again at some later date. Please feel free to call us if you we can be of more assistance.

Kind Regards,

Management and Staff Madison Spa Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moama hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We also booked the Spreets 2 night accommodation package and after reading other reviews on this site we didn't go there with too many expectations. We were given an upstairs room which was clean, quite modern and had a large 2 person spa in the corner looking out the window to the bushland. We didn't use the communal spa or plunge pool as we found the spa in our room more than adequate. The outdoor pool was a little too cold, so we didn't swim in that either. Our breakfast was lovely both mornings. We didn't use the $40 vouchers as these are 'to put toward' a treatment and we still would've had to pay something. (We weren't offered them at check in anyway) We didn't hear the traffic on the main road. The staff were polite and overall I'd say we had a very pleasant stay and it was a good place to base ourselves when exploring Echuca/Moama. I'm not quite sure where the supposed $800 value was, but overall it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe Spa Rooms on the first floor are a little nicer than the Scenic Spa Rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My partner and I wanted a quiet break in a pleasant location to get away from a very hectic lifestyle. We were able to take advantage of a package deal which in our opinion was good value for money. Our room was a deluxe spa room. Before booking we checked the website, which as it turned out did not make any promises that were not kept. The location is a busy highway, however we were not aware of traffic noise once in the room. It was on the first floor and looked out on tranquil bushland. The in-room double spa was located by a large picture window and made for a very relaxing experience. The fireplace in the room created a cosy atmosphere. I had looked up the trip advisor reviews and was a little concerned at what we might find, however we were not disappointed. The room was in good repair and had good decor. It wasn't fancy but overall well appointed, spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful, from reception, to restaurant to housekeeping. We took advantage of a number of the day spa treatments. The vichy package was definitely the best - exfoliation and massage while being sprayed with the most relaxing flow of water - that was a new experience for me. My average rating below for service (3) arises from the fact that I attempted to make a booking for the day spa a week beforehand (as requested on the website) - I left a message for someone to call me back to discuss the different types of services. No-one did, and because of my hectic schedule I made the booking only once I arrived. Because they were nearly fully booked, I ended up only getting about half of the treatments I had planned on. The restaurant has a very good set menu deal which gave a good selection of tasty items and good value for money. Overall the trip met our objectives which was to have a relaxing time in a pleasant location, and we would definitely recommend it. We are both seasoned travellers and fairly picky. We consider this to be good value for money and a location that delivers what it promises.

Room Tip: If you want to use the day spa, make sure you book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was more of a motel than a resort. The room was very spacious and the double spa was huge. Was a bit dissappointed by the 'resort' facilities. The spa was closed for maintenance and the heated plunge pool was nothing more than an oversized bath tub. I did not see any sauna or steam rooms and their was no gym. In summer the outside pool would ahve ben nice. For the price we paid I would of expected cable TV as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcleanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We brought this $299 - 2 nights "Escape to Spa Resort in Moama" special promotion through Spreets which is said to be worth $800!

It is typical MOTEL constructed as one long double storey building situation on a busy highway. The pool and beer garden area next to the restaurant is quite pleasant.

We were given a Scenic Spa room (Not Luxury spa room as promoted) on the ground floor (Scenic room rate listed in Madison bouchure at $195/night valid from 1st Feb2011). It was a basic room and quite dated and at best would be rated 3 stars or less. There is really nothing special about the bush view. It is not a quiet room as you can hear guests walking around upstairs & having their spa even at mid night or early morning. Also the spa in our room kept dripping & kept us awake all night.

The food in the restaurant Konosirs is oily and the service was very slow, although the staff were courteous.

Facilities - Upon arrival, we were told the Spa is not working ! The only thing we can use in the bath house is the relaxation 3x3 pool, the tiny dry sauna (max. 4 people) would not start up and no one could assist.

In the whole place there is only ONE bike available for hire at $8/Hr !

Also upon arrival you received a $40 Spa Voucher, however be very mindful that treatment packages available are not included in the Spreets promotion. Your voucher can only be put towards any treatments on offer, eg. (full body one hr massage cost $95 !). Upon asking staff what the voucher provided, no one could clearly explain how it works !

Could someone please tell me where is the value of $800 as promoted in Spreets offered ?

Also, I would like to know who is that person who posted in TriAdvisor Review stating Madison is "world-class place, set in a typical Australian bushland setting" in the Spreets Promotion ?

Room Tip: Spreets Advertisement is very miss leading !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gembrook, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. The spa was lovely, an the room and carpet were very new. The gas fireplace completed it. Views out the windows towards the trees were really nice. Bed had lots of pillows and was soft and comfortable. Reception ladies were kind and helpful. Had a lovely time in Echuca, and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Check wotif for specials
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobPitcherAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moama
0.3 mi away
Bridges on Meninya
Bridges on Meninya
#3 of 11 in Moama
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#2 of 18 in Echuca
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#3 of 18 in Echuca
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Echuca Moama
2.1 mi away
Cadell on the Murray
Cadell on the Murray
#1 of 11 in Moama
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Country Inn
River Country Inn
#2 of 11 in Moama
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Spa Resort

Property: Madison Spa Resort
Address: 80 Meninya St, Moama, New South Wales 2731, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Madison Spa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Moama
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Moama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Madison Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Spa Resort Moama Hotel Moama
Madison Hotel Moama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing