We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy”
Review of River Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Moama
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Happy”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hotel very nice, rooms quite large, beautiful surrounds, but at breakfast in the conference room there was no choice, only bacon & eggs, toast & coffee, we had to clear our own tables & scrape our plates before putting them on the counter. In the rooms, we had to put our rubbish in outside bins also not a bench wiped, and if anything left on bed they would not make the bed. They called it serviced everyday . I though we were paying guests "not the cleaners".

Room Tip: Ask questions what u get for your money and where is the room situated. Also ask if there is a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda B, Owner at River Country Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are glad you thought River Country Inn rooms and surroundings were nice. With your Travel Auction voucher we provided you with a FREE cooked breakfast. You were most welcome to choose from our breakfast menu at normal prices. Because there were so many wanting their breakfast before the offer expired, we decided to do in the Conference Room and selected our most popular items. We note that the other 22 people were very happy with the breakfast arrangements, including bringing their dishes to us for washing, we note you were sitting approximately 2 foot from this area. Our room service policy is to not make beds when personal items are left on the bed, however our staff advise you had your bed made each day. You do not have to put the rubbish out as our housekeepers do so, although there is a note saying when you depart it would be appreciated if you would remove your rubbish. We are now looking at removing this note as it appears to be confusing some guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    40
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
80
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mt emu
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed the weekend with another couple. Amazed at the facilities offered plates cutlery etc + microwave and toaster in room everything for breakfast. But it was the amazingly well stocked camp kitchen that really impressed along with generous eating area which reflects the reality of the number of guests likely to use in the summer months. The garden door which led to a lovely garden area surrounding the pool was an added bonus and appreciated even in winter can imagine how useful in summer. Our room even though close to the highway didn't hear the traffic noise although did hear neighbours were woken by them one morning and they weren't yelling or anything. Also our bed was like a brick. Other couple said their bed was okay but also said their room had been updated hopefully these 2 issues will be addressed as the motel continues its renovation program. Overall a delight would reccommend to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a softer bed or updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda B, Owner at River Country Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thanks for your mostly positive feedback about our beautiful gardens and very practical and well stocked BBQ and Eating area which as you suggested, does get a workout, especially during the summer months. We are sorry you felt your bed was too hard, had you advised us we would have been more than happy to offer you a Mattress Topper for some extra comfort. All our beds are the same so not sure why your friends felt their bed was fine, though bed comfort is very much a personal choice and that is why we offer the option of a mattress topper. All of our Deluxe and King Spa rooms have them as standard. Your room was recently painted while your friends was not, so not sure why you thought theirs was better, though it was a Queen room which has a more modern looking bedspread and it did have a new couch as well. We hope you will visit us again as we continue to improve both the rooms and the gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good room in a good location, helpful people and all very clean. Would like to return in warmer weather as the pool area looked nice! Good communication before and after our stay. Would stay here again when next in Echuca/Moama.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda B, Owner at River Country Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your recent review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the warmer weather so you can enjoy our beautiful pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Thank you to Michael and Glenda for making our family weekend so special. We had my mothers 81st Birthday weekend in Echuca/Moama and through recommendations we chose the River county inn and could not have been happier. The facilities are great and well maintained. Our hosts look after us and made sure we had all we needed to make the weekend special which is was. The rooms are well equipped, the hotel is nice and quiet with lovely gardens, BBQ and pool area. We all highly recommend River Country inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda B, Owner at River Country Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad your family enjoyed their stay and that your Mums Birthday was such a memorable occasion. We are perfectly set up for families to get together and have an enjoyable and relaxing break, especially as our rooms all wrap around the beautiful peaceful gardens, pool and BBQ areas. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCrae, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed three nights we were very impressed with the rooms and the gardens,pool and BBQ area. rom was very clean and tidy staff very helpfull we would definitely go there again.it is centrally located to all shops

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at River Country Inn for one night on 29/3/2014. We were part of a bus trip from his work social club and were extremely impressed with our accommodation. It was spotlessly clean and very spacious. I think it is the first motel we have stayed in that had an exhaust fan in the bathroom - no foggy mirror! The owners were very well organised when we arrived, with everyone given their room key within a couple of minutes. The pool and surrounding outside area was lovely - we will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda B, Owner at River Country Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Michael and I are really glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we do have exhaust fans (and good lighting) in all our spacious bathrooms. As you found, River Country Inn is perfectly set up to cater for groups as all the rooms open onto our beautiful gardens with lots of seating, the lovely pool area, and a huge under cover BBQ and eating area perfect for group social gatherings. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed for one night last week and couldn't have wished for better accommodation.
As soon as we arrived at reception we got a very warm welcome.
The accommodation was a bit dated but very very clean, I do not have any negative comments to say about it, we were a family of 2 adults and 2 children, the rooms, yes, we had a joint bedroom for the boys were very large, the only thing I would suggest would be to have a lamp in the spare room as they were a little scared of the dark so had to take the one from our room and put it into theirs, no problem though.
The pool was lovely and warm with plenty of space for everyone, lots of outdoor seating areas, also there's an outside kitchen with bbq's ( I have never seen used bbq's so clean) access to plates, cutlery etc...all accommodations have a front and back door with all back doors leading to the pool area.
We for sure would use the River Country Inn again and would recommend this to anyone wishing to visit Echuca ( note the river country inn is a few minutes out of town)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda B, Owner at River Country Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments about our spacious rooms and lovely outdoor areas. We also appreciate your feedback about the second bedrooms and will install a nightlight for the little ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moama
0.4 mi away
Bridges on Meninya
Bridges on Meninya
#3 of 11 in Moama
98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Spa Resort
Madison Spa Resort
#8 of 11 in Moama
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Resort Echuca Moama
2.0 mi away
Cadell on the Murray
Cadell on the Murray
#1 of 11 in Moama
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moama on Murray Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Country Inn

Property: River Country Inn
Address: 79 - 81 Meninya Street, Moama, New South Wales 2731, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Moama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Moama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echuca/Moama's "Child Free" Motel - Discover our hidden oasis - rooms open onto the lush private gardens and pool area. Discover what regular travellers have known for years, River Country Inn is the perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing escape. The sparkling solar heated salt water pool has seating, lounges and two gazebos close by. We continue to improve some aspects while keeping the very special feel of stepping out of your room and appreciating the soothing aspects of our garden oasis which is totally hidden from view. Room are wrapped around the peaceful gardens with car parking right at your back door. Seating is dotted around the garden and the large undercover BBQ and eating area is ideal for gathering with friends. We have a selection of Spa, Two Room, Deluxe, Queen and Twin rooms (all with Garden Views) and one "Easy Access" & Pet Friendly Twin room which is more spacious but slightly away from the inner garden courtyard. Continental and cooked breakfasts are usually available (except during peak periods and when catering to large groups) and there is a Conference Room ideal for small to medium groups. There is plenty of room for car, boat and bus parking. Enjoy all that Echuca/Moama has to offer in a clean comfortable and relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your River Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing