We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merool on the Murray
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Moama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We , five of us, stayed at this holidays park at the 2 bedd room units for 2 nights. The receiption staff, Helen, was wonderful. She welcomed us by upgrading our friend to a same type of unit instead of a the studio one, so that we could stay side by side.The room was very clean and was equipped with everything a tourist requires, e.g. Hair dryer, iron etc. The only con is the double bed of the smaller room where 2 had to squeeze closely. My wife slept inside and every time of the night she went out for the toilet she had to crawl across me and therey waked me up. The upper bunk is too high to climb up for me aged 74.The surroundings were wonderful and nice for strolling. The swimming pool looked tempting. Did not go in as it was quite cold.The rate is very cheap. Will go again if only the 2nd room cab be converted 2 single beds or just a plain double bed room.

Room Tip: If your finance is O.K. get one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sepang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in the river pioneer cabins for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The cabins have a spectacular view of the Murray and it was lovely to watch the paddle steamers come around the bend from the port and turn to make their return trip.

The Pros:

Cabin was very clean with a well laid out kitchen and extremely comfortable living area. Modern furnishings throughout
Stunning views of the river
Great swimming pool (we unfortunately didnt make use of it during our stay but would love to next stay if the weather is warmer)
The regular visits from the resident ducks and possums at night our daughter loved.
Close proximity to all echuca-moama has to offer but in a quiet country setting.
The fantastic old time village facades on the cabins, very atmospheric!

The cons:
There were ants throughout the kitchen area in droves, nothing was safe overnight, this was resolved easily by being vigilant with keeping things clean and food sealed but was still a nuisance
Bed wasn't the most comfortable we've ever been in, but was sufficient for a few nights

Overall we would recommend the cabin accommodation and merool on the Murray to those visiting the region and look forward to one day returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rae1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently rented a lovely cabin at this river side park. The facilities within the park are great. Location is perfect with clubs and restaurants at Moama and into Echuca only 5-7 minutes in the car. Our cabin overlooked the Murray River with the old paddle steamers moving up and down the river in view of our Cabin. Our group was 3 retired couples but we would highly suggest this spot for families. A restful quiet park off season and I'm sure a hive of activity during holiday season. Enjoy!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank themotherdingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Merool twice, once by ourselves & we loved it so much that we took my family back to attend a wedding in about a year later.
The first time we went, the water level was extremely low but we were still able to enjoy sitting on our river view balcony & enjoy the serenity & occasional boats that passed us.
It was very quiet in the park, a great place for a quiet weekend away.
We didn't utilise the pool the first time but the next time we went, we certainly got our moneys worth - my brother would have skipped the wedding if he could've!
The cabins are clean, large enough & well equipped with cooking facilities & working TV.
The park is large enough to have a walk through it as well.
The cost is slightly high so it's somewhere we'd go for a special occasion or something, rather than just a normal weekend away.
The park is close enough to Moama and Echuca but not close enough to walk anywhere - it keeps you at the park enjoying the facilities for a little longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyj23_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

while the park is really nice and the staff at the desk were lovely, its really disappointing to not be able to book a specific site with water and power to take your own van/tent etc camping.

for this reason we wont be using this park

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsSKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was our second stay at Merool on the Murray. We stayed 7 night in a studio cabin with Murray River view. The room was clean but bed was very uncomfortable this time around. The room was open plan with small kitchen with only a mini bar fridge, queen bed, little kitchen table and chairs, and a pull out sofa bed. Air con was excellent along with ceiling fan. We had a little decking area with a little 2 seater outdoor setting. The only thing I didn't like was that with a 7 day stay you only get clean towels once, half way through your stay, if I had know this I would have bought towels from home. The cabins are self contained and don't have housekeeping service which us fine but would have liked clean towels delivered to our room every second day along with toilet paler. I don't believe that we should have to supply our own toilet paper for paid accommodation. I had to request toilet paper twice as they only give you two rolls. It is a very friendly park with a lovely pool area. Am looking forward to staying again next year but will upgrade to a bigger cabin next year. A studio cabin is perfect for only a couple of night but for a week it can be a little small.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very expensive for very little return. Grassed areas dry and full of Bull ants. Swimming pool has a lot of sharp objects on the floor. Poorly maintained park overall. Lacks general facilities in comparison to cheaper/other parks in the area. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moama hotels
1.6 mi away
Bridges on Meninya
Bridges on Meninya
#3 of 11 in Moama
104 reviews
3.3 mi away
Moama on Murray Resort
2.7 mi away
Discovery Parks – Maidens Inn, Moama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Perricoota Vines Retreat
2.5 mi away
Rich River Golf Club Resort
1.4 mi away
Cadell on the Murray
Cadell on the Murray
#1 of 11 in Moama
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merool on the Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merool on the Murray

Address: 131 Merool Road, Moama, New South Wales NSW 2731, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Moama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Moama
Price Range: $75 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merool on the Murray 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merool is a family owned and operated Holiday Park set on the banks of the Murray River in Moama, NSW. The hire cabin theme village consists of 30 self contained cabins and the park boasts powered sites, a houseboat marina, function centre and 329 annual site holders. Over 30 years old and established on 68 acres of freehold land with over 2 kilometres of absolute Murray River frontage, Merool has something to offer for all guests.The park is only a 5 minute drive from the main attractions Echuca/Moama has to offer, yet a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Come an join us at Merool and Experience the Murray! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merool on the Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing