We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in Maitland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fratelli Roma

Fratelli Roma
Ranked #1 of 163 Restaurants in Maitland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Gem in Maitland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place certainly rivals any of the restaurants in the more touristy Vineyard region in terms of food quality (and surpasses many of them in fact). It also matches them in price.
The Saturday night we went in a party of 8, the restaurant was full, a good sign! We were well looked after by attentive but not obtrusive staff. A few staff mistakes with the orders and a little slow at times but these are minor quibbles in what was otherwise a night of exceptional dining. All the dishes are immaculately presented and the menu is diverse and interesting. The portions are also exceedingly generous, especially with the desserts!
The wine list is very good (not too dauntingly big) with local Hunter wines well represented, but what is most evident is that the prices are very reasonable, which is unusual for a wine list at a good restaurant! Hats off to that!
My wife and I will be returning on our own at some point and we highly recommend you give it a go as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    57
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Maitland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stunning restaurant. Very good service throughout the night. Meals were a little bit on the expensive side, but portions were good, and meals were both beautifully presented and very tasty. I don't mind paying good money for good food, and this was one of those occasions where we were more than happy. We shared and entree and desert (and had a main each of course) as we were not really hungry, and total bill worked out at about $90 each with a bottle of wine. Overall very happy. Will be returning to try more of that yummy looking menu for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FIZZY1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Have dined at 305 several times and have never been disappointed. Great place to enjoy a nice meal as a couple or with friends.

Helpful?
Thank joster2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Have been there several times and each one was memorable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Memorable!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We go to 305 for special occasions and we are never disappointed - amazing fine dining and great service! High recommend

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli Roma also viewed

 
East Maitland, Maitland
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Fratelli Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing