We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the spur.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Bar - CLOSED

Fox Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On the spur.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Everyday fare with very imagiative chef .Pleasant indoor & outdoor casual dining with a good selection of local wines & beers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Potential but space isn't big enough.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We have only attended for drinks on a number of occasions and each time they were extremely busy. The staff are particularly unhelpful. On one occasion their attitude was, if you find a seat, sit in it! It makes you feel very awkward and unwelcome. Before we had visited on the first occasion we phoned ahead and were hung up on after they stated they didnt take bookings. The drinks are expensive and the space for the counter is crowded making lining up a chore. Maitland is screaming out for a place like this and I think it could be great with better trained staff and a bigger space. Not in a hurry to return.

Helpful?
Thank aimmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“They lost our docket then tried to charge us for the meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service was mediocre to start with. There was no table service, for food or drinks. This does not encourage a relaxed atmosphere. There was confusion when the bill was settled, the barman didn't seem to have a clue. Won't be going back, nor recommending to anyone else.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarindaLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A great addition to Maitland dining options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Probably best considered as a bit of an up-market bar (as the name implies) that offers good food, rather than a restaurant. Good atmosphere and good service.

It offers a good range of beers spirits and cocktails (we didn't look at the wine menu). Menu is limited, but catered for our carnivores, and herbivores. Service was almost too quick, we had bread, main and dessert in just under an hour !!

Mains were very well prepared and presented - and a bit small, though OK size for a 3 course meal, but you could go away hungry if that was all you ordered. Steak was cooked exactly as ordered, and salmon just still slightly undercooked in the middle. The pie floater was an interesting interpretation of an old classic - if a little bland.

The dissapointment (as noted in other reviews) was the size of the "platter". We ordered the bread platter for four ($23 with an extra dip). Whilst $5 per head is a good price for breads - in this case it did not really represent value for money as there were only 3 very small pieces of bread each (corn bread was about 2cm by 3cm). There was plenty of dips and butter left - just not enough bread to put them on. For the cost of another couple of slices of bread - this could have been a really good dish.

The Fox Bar is a good place to go if you are not on a restricted budget and want to try a few 'out of the mainstream' drinks accompanied by something interesting to eat.

Marketing would be improved with clearer copies of the menus on the website :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“alot of potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fox Bar in maitland is truly a unique and wonderfully warm environment, with very knowledgeable staff members in the bar.
As a beer, wine and spirit lover its hard to find quality and unique drinks in the area, with staff that know what they are talking about. I have dine at the Fox many times and will continue to go and offer support to this wonderful venue.

Now with that said I do place this clause in my previous comments; the consistency of the quality of food has lowered to such a state that it is not worth anyones time to eat at this establishemnt unless it is a one of event, As you will recieve nothing but regret in future visits.
I sight the following example. On my first visit I had a ploughmans platter for 2 with a freind this was of good size and the quality match the price. Since then the ploughmans (although in a previous review this was the highlight of the night) has degraded so such a small dish that you have to buy a ploughmans for 4 to bearly feed two, I do not call 4 small cuts of bread 2X 4 different meats more pickled onions and cucumbers then anything else a quality meal for four people. The difference in qulity and consitency has gone very much downhill- in short the portions are smaller while the prices are going up.

This sadly needs to be addressed and I am sure that through a public medium like this is will get through to the kitchen staff and cheif.

With that said, I highly recommended Fox bar for the drinks and the quality service from the bar staff definatly the best bar in maitland!

I keep my reveiws balanced so this should act as a good guide to any guest that this is truky a unique and wonderful venue for drinks and a relaxing day, just eat before going other wise youll spend $100 and still feel hungry and disapointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katzbarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing