We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Maitland
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is in a beautifully restored old building. The room was clean, well presented and well provisioned. The sunken lounge area was fantastic as was the spa bath in the room itself. Perfect for a romantic night away. Reasonably priced as well.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was part of a group of 18 who were in Maitland for Steamfest in April 2014. Our group leader booked us all into Monte Pio Motel. We were all very pleased with the quality of the establishment, rooms were spacious, well furnished, good bathrooms and spotlessly clean.
The bar area and Restaurent/Breakfast area was excellent. This is an old building formally a Convant then a School. It has been tastefully renovated to suit Motel accommodation. It is a very quiet location, being situated well back off the busy New England Highway. Very handy to come and go into Town as there is bus stops right outside. The managers were always pleasent and helpfull. Our group leader told us it was not an expensive place to stay. I would recomend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms, but standard Motel rooms are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the area. The first room was a spa suite with king bed. The room was very spacious with a little sunken lounge as well as in room spa. It was very clean and had been renovated recently. However, the renovation was a bit mixed as I don't believe the décor suited the period which the building was established. Also, I am not a big fan of carpet near the spa. I think the room was a bit pricey at $200 night.
The 2nd room was a standard hotel room, and it was very basic. It contained a queen bed and a single. There was no mini bar in this room, however other standard rooms did have one. The toilet ran all night and the rooms location was tucked away in a little back alcove. Price was $105 night. Be aware that the rooms for this price have huge variations. Family members stayed in other standard rooms for the same price, and were very happy with their rooms as some were significantly larger and had been renovated. As the building is quite large, the rooms locations are also varied with some offering balconies. We found the staff to be very helpful and the areas that have been renovated such as the reception, are very tastefully done. We also ate in the restaurant for dinner one evening and had a lovely meal with great service. Breakfast was an additional cost and although it filled a hole in our tummies, again, it was very average. The big breakfast consisted of a very basic continental breakfast-toast, croissants, cereal, tinned fruit and 1 flavour of yoghurt. The hot component was fried eggs, bacon, sausages and baked beans. Overall, a good location, but a mixed experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muskie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night while for a Hope Estate concert which we booked late, so there wasn't too much available. The shuttle coach calls in at this hotel.
It is an older style hotel and it looks like part of it dates back to th 60's or 70's and part is a bit more modern. Our room (which turned out to be a 2 bedroom + kitchen suite) was in the old bit.

The suite was very spacious with a lounge area and large bedrooms and kitchen. It ticks all the critical boxes - comfortable king bed, clean, reasonable shower and quiet. However, the decor and finish is very tired, worn and tatty, and for the price should be modernised. If you are bothered by that kind of thing, you will be disappointed.

Didn't eat there - there are a couple of nice cafes on the high street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked Monte Pio and ended up going for the "romance package" which included a room with a spa bath and we were greeted with chocolates and wine, complete with a cute little "sunken lounge" area. We also had a $90 dinner voucher and breakfast included in the price, which made it quite well priced. The restaurant for dinner is just downstairs which is nice and handy if you are not wanting to go far, or are tired after a long day. Breakfast the next day was good and cooked especially for us when we ordered, rather than having a buffet style as is usually the case.

The room was clean and spacious and we had no complaints. I loved the spa bath! The pool outside really needed a better clean though, but other than that I quite liked this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It is with a heavy heart that we write this review. We have long been fans of the Monte Pio staying many times over the past 20 years, however this was probably our last stay. We were visiting Maitland for a Christening and recommended this establishment to family too. When we booked, we were told the family room was $280 for one night. We were surprised as this was a lot more than we were usually charged. When we arrived the room was very cramped and dated, it was a double room with 2 single beds squeezed in on the side. The air conditioner was not adequate for the room - the bathroom was really tiny and very dated, with cracked tiles and a tiny shower! The whole room had a tired and dirty feel to it. We discovered that there was an international artist performing in the Hunter Valley and according to the staff this is why the price was so high. On checking out we were told that the room we stayed in would be renovated in March in 2014. Which left us mystified on why we paid such a high price considering the current condition of the room and it's tiny size, when we had stayed in the past in rooms that were four or five times bigger than this room, and had been updated and beautifully renovated for half the price!!! We were sadly very disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank jandk_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We came here for my nieces 21st party. We booked a few rooms for family members and they were lovely, a good size and very comfy.

The reception and function staff were all lovely and very informative.

Will stay again if in the area, highly recommended

Stayed: January 2014
Thank R0wi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maitland
12.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.2 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
317 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pindari House
Pindari House
#1 of 1 in Lochinvar
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
3.3 mi away
Best Western Endeavour Motel
Best Western Endeavour Motel
#1 of 2 in East Maitland
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: New England Highway & Dwyer Street, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn Monte Pio)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Maitland
Price Range: $98 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Pio Hotel And Conference Centre Maitland, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing