We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden historical treasure...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandelson's of Goulburn
Ranked #1 of 7 Goulburn B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden historical treasure...”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked one night at the last minute at the end of an adventurous motorbike roadtrip and it was the perfect way to end the holiday. The property has great historical significance and the hosts are more than happy to spend time sharing that history with you.

The upstairs sitting room was a delight to relax in and play cards, the bedrooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom modern.

Breakfast in the morning was yum and more than enough (although no cooked bfast on offer) and the hosts are lovely. I
t would be great fun to come back and stay as a big group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
58
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's beautiful, it's clean, it's comfy and I didn't want to leave. I would 100% stay there again. It does not get any better. From start to finish we were happy and enthralled with the history. I only wish we could of stayed more then one night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katpatmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned home after a long weekend break in the Southern Highland and decided to stay at Mandelson's of Goulburn at the recommendation of a friend. Well, we were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by Steve and Claire and from that point on everything was wonderful.
The guesthouse is unique, quirky and very beautiful with great antique furniture complimenting the old world charm if the place. And to top it all off, Harry and Jack.....great co hosts to say the least. Would recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere to stay that is packed full of history, comfortable, friendly AND beautiful in so many ways. Loved it. Thank you Steve and Claire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjay08a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We decided to visit Goulburn and stayed at this wonderful guesthouse. Claire and Steve were fabulous hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The guesthouse is centrally situated in town and within walking distance to everything.
The guesthouse has a lot of history and is unique. The executive room that we stayed in was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. From the time we entered the guesthouse we were made welcome and felt quite at home. We even enjoyed a glass of wine with our hosts and other guests of the guesthouse.
I enjoy patchwork quilting and Claire has a wonderful range of fabrics.
I would highly recommend Mandelson's if you want to get away from everything and enjoy the ambience of this wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This property displays that rare combination of good location, great hosts and a unique experience. Until our stay a few weeks ago Goulburn had always been that place we passed through while travelling between Canberra and Sydney. Fortunately circumstance led to an impromptu overnight break there and the chance discovery of Claire and Steve Ayling's guesthouse. The welcoming (and genuine) hospitality we were shown and the experience of staying in a living heritage museum was both fascinating and very enjoyable. It is enough to say that we were already planning to return before we checked out the next day.

Room Tip: If you feel like indulging in some touristic "time travel" this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Mandelson's came highly recommended through friends and we also experienced a most wonderful stay at this notable boutique hotel. The perfect hosts, Claire & Steve were very welcoming and friendly and made our delightful stay one to remember. The restoration is superb, creating the perfect ambience for relaxation and the history of the building and the surrounds is most interesting. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean and the entire hotel is managed to a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return especially in the winter to enjoy the fireplace. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and know you will also have a most enjoyable unique experience - one to remember.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem ask for a downstairs room. But you will miss mounting the beautiful stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barsbüttel
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Probably the most interesting hotel we have ever stayed in. The decor is unbelievable and you could stay for weeks without seeing all of the little items of interest standing/lying/hanging around. And Claire is the best hostess you can possibly image - friendly, helpful, informative. If we ever get back to Goulburn we shall definitely stay here again. And we have already started recommending Mandelson's to friends and family. It's so much nicer than a standard modern hotel - the rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean & fascinating!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Goulburn
Best Western Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
653 reviews
1.7 mi away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#3 of 16 in Goulburn
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandelson's of Goulburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandelson's of Goulburn

Property: Mandelson's of Goulburn
Address: 160 Sloane St | corner Clinton Street, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandelson's of Goulburn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the warm and welcoming atmosphere of Mandelson's of Goulburn, an 1840's fully restored and refurbished Colonial Landmark on the edge of Goulburn's CBD within easy walking distance to the main street for shopping and a great selection of Restaurants.Enjoy one of our luxuriously appointed guest rooms, central heating, air conditioning, electric blankets, free wireless broadband. Some off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mandelson's of Goulburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing