We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Rocky Hill War Memorial and Museum
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Goulburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: museums@goulburn.nsw.gov.au
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having lived in Goulburn for some time in the past I was well aware of the Rocky Hill War Memorial but I was not aware of the adjacent museum. We wandered in mid morning on a recent Saturday and were greeted by a very friendly, knowledgeable man who made us feel very welcome. He gave us a guide and offered to answer any questions we may have during our visit. The museum is very well set up and has some quite interesting exhibits including an original Changi prison door. We meandered around for over an hour and learned a lot about Goulburns contribution to the war and how hard life must have been for our diggers. A real eye opener and definitely worth a look.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

A great place to see over all the area. The views are fantastic I had no idea that the area was soo large. Walk up the tower for an even higher view.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
280 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Probably the best small town Memorial I have seen!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This memorial built from stone in the 1920s sits high on a hill overlooking the town. It is a great place to start your time in Goulburn, after you visit the very helpful info centre. It is lit at night and there is a museum which unfortunately was not open for our visit, although I will try again next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great view of the Goulburn area, take some photos and climb to the top of the memorial. Didn't visit the museum, but the memorial was easy to locate and quick to drive to from central Goulburn. Will fill in half an hour or so on a tip to Goulburn.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Offering the best views over Goulburn and beyond”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This attraction is worth more than the gold coin donation it asks for admission. The 20-metre-high stone tower was erected in memory of Goulburn and district's men who fought in the first world war. It is truly beautiful and offers breathtaking views over the city of Goulburn and beyond. Inside the tower is a flight of stairs you climb, passing many original photographs on the walls of various battlefields including Gallipoli. At the top, there's an indoor viewing platform where you can sit and reflect or just take in the view. Near the carpark is the museum housing all military memorabilia and artefacts including weapons, uniforms and equipment including an original wooden door from the Changi Gaol, Singapore. In the grounds outside are plaques dedicated to the various wars, a couple of German Howitzer guns and torpedo shells. The museum and tower are fitting tributes to our war veterans and a visit is highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ForeverYoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Hill War Memorial and Museum also viewed

Goulburn, New South Wales
Goulburn, New South Wales
 

Been to Rocky Hill War Memorial and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing