We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and coffee”
Review of Goulburn bakery

Goulburn bakery
Ranked #3 of 3 Bakeries in Goulburn
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food and coffee”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just great bakery food and coffee. Pies are outstanding, great open fire in winter always busy ( peoples choice) but good service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank majorrick937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    60
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
“Good alternative to Maccas up the road.....”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We usually head for McDonalds if passing through Goulburn, however a bakery always seems appealing with the smell of baked bread, hot pies and other baked goodies.This large cafeteria-style bakery had all types of food choices to cater for a range of diners either on the go or a leisurely bite.

The décor is rustic and meant to be that way – just as well as its popular being near the Hume H’way. Other choices of hot food can be ordered or a buffet of sorts is offered - they open quite late for a bakery and a good alternative to Macca’s burgers just up the road.

We came around 630pm for just an espresso and a sweetie and to our amazement the coffee was excellent – so McCafe beware! Prices are a little on the high side across the board so don’t think that being a bakery gives too many reasonably priced options. The hot pies, cakes and breads looked and smelled nice and we bought some bread to take home. It tasted wonderful even after sitting there for most of the day.

A lovely, warm fire was burning in the huge fireplace while we drank our coffee and it was a really cosy break before we got back on the road.The restrooms were a bit of a let down and overall the place needed a good clean - it obviously gets busy here. We would come again though based on the Espresso alone and it really did compare well to that other café up the road.

Enjoy your experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Goulburn Bakery is well located for people travelling through as it's just off the Hume Highway and within sight of the Big Merino. It's a fairly big bakery and looks like it's often full or close to it. For that reason it doesn't have the feel of a quaint country bakery - it feels more like a cafeteria. The staff were friendly and helpful but the food wasn't great. (It wasn't cheap either.) There are probably better baked goods around but Goulbourn Bakery certainly offers convenience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aus_PM_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice pies”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a handy place to stop when we're travelling. The service is always friendly and the food is good. The pies are good, not the best ever, but consistently good and they have a nice selection.

Helpful?
Thank Gaz_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Undrinkable coffee and bland bakery option”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stopped on my way back from sydney to Canberra - nice big building looks nice from outside but the coffee was not good and pies better to stay hungry - better to stop in other places

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Galia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goulburn bakery also viewed

Goulburn, New South Wales
Goulburn, New South Wales
 
Goulburn, New South Wales
Goulburn, New South Wales
 

Been to Goulburn bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing