We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst best western in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Goulburn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst best western in the world”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are two parts to the motel and we were stuck in the old part run down fifties motel,ac didnt work properly doors stuck,noisy.Better going to camping ground and paying less for better accommodation.
Having stayed in various Best westerns around the globe this is by far the worst and the only one ever to charge a deposit.
Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Avoid go to other motels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomorebadsevice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager77, Manager at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Nomorebadservice,

Thank you for passing on your concerns.

Our property has many levels of accommodation starting at $100 for an ECONOMY unit & ranging up to 4.5 star spa suites & apartments at a higher price. Our guests are given various options so they can select a style to match their budget.
We have in place security procedures for the safety & comfort of our guest & staff. One of these is a guarantee of payment & identification at check in. I apologise if this has caused you any anguish.

We would be delight to see you again & perhaps offer you one of our superior units.

Regards,
Vicki Rabjohns
Your Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    152
    40
    10
    12
See reviews for
121
114
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this very nice hotel' we did not Pre-book but we received first class service on arrival and during our stay. Our room was the 4X+ room which was something better than we had expected when driving in to Goulburn, The restaurant was reasonable quality but was a little expensive (close to Sydney prices) There others restaurants close by so did not cause a problem. Goulburn is an ideal stopping of location if you are driving to or from Sydney south, there are a number of local history sites worth looking at, and there is a good tourist information office located near the train station. We would stop again at this hotel if we visit this area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager77, Manager at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
The Best Western Centretown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathurst, australia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stay here several times a year when working in the area. I work in a two man team and we book the 2 bedrooms apartments. The rooms are spacious and facilities are second to none.The kitchen facilities are excellent especially for an extended stay as it gives you the option to cook if you wish. The beds are comfy, great showers and air con/ heating good. If you're in the area for business or leisure the Best Western Centrepoint is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager77, Front Office Manager at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our 2 bedroom apartments.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here over night after attending a dinner in Goulburn. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient. Room was newly renovated and very fresh. Excellent bed, very comfortable. great bathroom, excellent heating a tons of hot water. Room heating was good, though it would have been more efficient if I had realised the window was slightly open. Parking was not covered, but very convenient to the room entrance. There was no street noise and the entire atmosphere was very quiet
Check out was easy and billing accurate. We didn't have breakfast preferring the delights of the Paragon Cafe, but all in all a very pleasant place to stay in Goulburn.

Room Tip: try for the renovated rooms, they seem to be worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doneworkingAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Vicki Rabjohns & the BEST WESTERN Centretown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stated for 2 nights in the king spa room. It was very impressive, clean spacious and modern. Spa was really nice and big. We would definitely stay there again. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jancey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Jancey123,

Thank you for your review.
We built the King Spa Suites during the last drought & I still haven't given the corner massaging spas a test run.
TIP..Check out igoulburn.com for Lieder Theatres live productions & indulge in a Dinner & Theatre night. Chef Rowan would love to spoil your taste buds.
Best wishes
Vicki & your BEST WESTERN Centretown Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Centretown whilst on a business trip in April and was nicely surprised when I arrived. The room had been recently renovated, and was well furnished and very clean. The food from the restaurant was quite good and the buffet breakfast was one of the best I've experienced in a country hotel.
I will stay at Centretown again upon my return to Goulburn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Was told the unit was 3.5 Rating...but for the money they charged it should have been a 4 or higher.... Carpet badly worn and stained..... No decent shower...unless you like to sit on your knees to wash your hair in the bath tub. Air conditioner remote display not working...so you have to guess what it is doing....Lights over the Main bed were Not Working...There were Flies in the room, but No Fly spray in room provided......Unit looked old and shabby.......Spend 10 dollars more and you have all the luxury in a New Motel.....do your home work and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try the 4.5 Rooms and have a look before you decide...!!!!!!!!!! Make sure you check the Newer Mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rono55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager77, Manager at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Rono55,
Thank you for your notification.
I have checked the items mentioned. The shower pressure is fine and all three lights on the bed head wall are working. As we have daily maintenance, these items may have already been attended to.
I have tagged the air conditioner remote for maintenance to repair or replace.
Happy Easter.
Your Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
2.8 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#3 of 16 in Goulburn
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
39 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bakehouse Motel
The Bakehouse Motel
#4 of 16 in Goulburn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Goulburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Goulburn

Property: Best Western Goulburn
Address: 77 Lagoon St, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia (Formerly Best Western Centretown Goulburn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Goulburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Motel Accommodation, Apartments, Houses & Easy Access Ground Floor units. Cascades Licensed Restaurant & Bar. The Terrace Garden outdoor dining. Seasonally changing menu. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks & room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Goulburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing