We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value great position spotless!”
Review of Goulburn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goulburn Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this motor inn on our trip back to Melbourne and found it fantastic. It's a short walk to the main street and has well appointed rooms that are spotless. We inspected another motel in the main street that is very well known and $50 more a night and it no way compared to this one. Well done guys keep up the great work we will be recommending this one.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2choices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 111 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our overnight stopover from Hunter Valley to Melbourne. Our room was well-equipped, having all that we needed as a travelling couple with a toddler. Free Wi-fi was handy. Not sure what sort of bad experiences they had previously but the downside was their paranoia with damages and the indemnity required with a credit card (pretty normal where I come from but unusual for Australian standards). Nevertheless, I would still recommend this motor inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

For under one hundred dollars per night this motor inn is a good find. Well maintained, neat and clean....and a short walk to town. The hosts are welcoming and helpful. Excellent value for money for a weary traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have used this place a number of times and would recommend anyone desperate enough to need accommodation in Goulburn. This place is well run, and in good condition, prices are reasonable. They get all the basics right for a country motor inn, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The guy who runs this motel obviously has his act in gear, and many other country motels could learn a lesson from what he is doing.

We arrived in Goulburn around 6pm. A quick search of lastminute.com.au had us heading for a motel at the far end of town when we passed this motel's A-frame, advertising his standby rates - which were $10 less than we were expecting to pay at the end-of-town motel. The premises looked modern, so we took a chance...and are glad we did!

We didn't notice other motels promoting special standby rates, and this initiative is typical of what makes this guy stand out from the rest.

Just for the record, we had a room (room 10) with a double bed and stayed one night (a Wednesday night) en route home from Sydney.

The motel is modern, on the main road through town, just south of the main shopping area. The room was spacious - bed, table, workbench, 3 chairs, double bed, 2 person sofa, bright, immaculately clean, and quiet enough. It had all the things one could want (and should get) from a 'budget' motel - comfortable bed, a TV on which ALL the channels worked, a QUIET air conditioner, great shower with good supply of hot water, 2 towels, 2 face washers, hand towel, bath mat, kettle, toaster, wine glasses, tea towel, microwave (while he has a no cooking-in-the-room policy, this guy's astute enough to realise that some people want to - and he is prepared to allow them to - warm takeaway or frozen meals) etc.. And all at a very good price.

The motel directory is another very good feature. First, in big letters on the front is a list of the television channels (e..g. Channel 8 BBC News) - an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand guide to probably the first thing travellers are looking for. And inside was a sensibly written guide to the town, where to eat in town (we ate at the Workers Club, which was fabulous), and travel advice for travellers heading in all directions (even to the extent of which tollway to take in Sydney if heading to Brisbane, or to the airport, etc...and how to pay the tolls...plus a recommendation for a similar motel in Port Macquarie (I learned that many Melbourne folk travel to Brisbane and the Gold Coast and 1/3 of the way is Goulburn, 2/3 of the way is Port Macquarie) - so this guy made it easy for these folk to book ahead!!

He deserves all the patronage he can get.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 60yoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Goulburn
Best Western Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Posthouse Motel
The Posthouse Motel
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#4 of 16 in Goulburn
289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
696 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bakehouse Motel
The Bakehouse Motel
#3 of 16 in Goulburn
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goulburn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulburn Motor Inn

Address: 80 Clinton St, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range: $101 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goulburn Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Goulburn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing