We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here unless you are desperate!”
Review of The Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Astor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Do not stay here unless you are desperate!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I would not stay here ever again. Travelling from Brisbane to Melbourne and stopped here overnight. Was the only motel we could get into as we had not booked and it was school holidays. It cost $100 for 3 people.
The motel is part of a hotel and the rooms are horrible. Dark, concrete boxes and mattresses with body grooves in them! We had dinner in the hotel which I must admit was modern and lovely and the staff were great.
However I hardly slept a wink, noises from drunks at 1.30am when the hotel closed with people banging on our door and talking outside the window. No security chains on door which had me worried.
More screaming and giggling coming from upstairs at 2.00am then at 3.30am I could hear the local youths outside the bathroom window which backed onto the Woolworths carpark.
At 5.00am I gave up and packed the kids in the car and we left.
Not a family friendly hotel and I would not stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apollogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    27
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
23
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here because I wanted cheap and that is exactly what I got.
For $80 a night I cant complain because if I had spent more, I would have got something nicer. I have stayed at the best western central motor in before for $165 a night and that was modern and lovely.
I wouldn't recommend staying here for leisure. The hotel room was old, cold, the window in the bathroom was broken, the sheets were dirty, the room looked bad. If this was in sydney I would be giving it a 2*.
The best thing about the hotel is the pub. As with any pub it is noisy on a Thursday (students night), Friday and Saturday night until the early hours, with people constantly running past the rooms.
In saying all that, compared to what you can get in Goulburn it is all dependant on whether you can put up with it for one night for $80.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS5071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Drafts from everywhere, bathroom feels like a freezer, windows in bathroom that can't be closed, concrete floor radiated cold (bad for baby in cot), old building

Felt clean though, modern air con which we ran all night, good hot shower was a saving grace.

Restaurant in complex was nice - Corner Cafe across road for breakfast was superb and did alot to help us forget this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomasdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goulburn hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was the worst motel room that we have ever stayed in. Can not think of one nice thing to say about it. The door had large gaps all around it which let in the cold, the heater on the wall wasn't working & the small portable heater that was supplied didn't heat the room. The toilet/bathroom area was so badly lit that if you wanted to shower it was in the dark. We decided to leave very early in the morning & wait till we got home to shower. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan-Kevin_Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My partner and myself just spent two nights at The Astor and we both left very satisfied. Not only was our motel room quite pleasant ($85 a night, who can complain with a motel room and ensuite for that!!??) but the pub connected to it was simply awesome. It is obviously the happening place in goulburn! For a small country town the place was rocking! Upstairs and downstairs on both the Thursday and Friday the place was full with a great Dining and drinking crowd. So good in fact we already booked several rooms for our next stay with family and friends on our annual migration down to the snow. My partner and I were a bit hesitant to stay in the motel due to some of the reviews here but I can honestly say this; "it's pub accommodation! Not the Hilton! And still, it is great value for money" Not only is the motel fine but it is connected to a very friendly and professionally operated pub which serves great food and beverage with a smile! A SLAM DUNK

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Greeted by really friendly staff. Thought the room was great value for $70. Very clean & warm with a good bed & shower. The bistro food was really impressive for a country pub with great steaks, pizza's & lots lots more!

I think those having a whinge expect 4-5 star but do not want to pay for it.

A buzzy happening place so oldies wanting peace & quiet probably should go to a motel that is not next to a pub.

Looking forward to my next visit to Goulburn & The Astor!

Thanks for a pleasant stay!


  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The shower was terrible for two years in a row. Starts OK then gets too hot then too cold
Do not go on a Saturday night - the heavy drinkers from the pub make too much noise at 1am, then if you are unlucky other room guests are rowdy from 3am. The motel operators appear not to take any action to reduce the noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
0.1 mi away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Best Western Goulburn
Best Western Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn
1.8 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astor Hotel

Property: The Astor Hotel
Address: 93 Auburn St, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Astor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing