We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great value”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family of four stayed for one night when we visited Dubbo to go to the zoo recently. The apartment was very comfortable and suited us very well for our short visit. The only things that stop me from rating this as 5 stars is that there was no bath (usful for toddlers) and we had to rearrange the furniture in the second bedroom to fit our portacot in. However, these are small issues. The hotel is very close to a variety of shops and eateries, and a very easy drive to the zoo. If I had reason to be in Dubbo in the future, I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    221
    130
    25
    23
See reviews for
226
215
23
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A little away from the main street, but located near highways. This motor inn is huge and has lots of facilities. Our room was clean and spacious, and we paid a reasonable rate. Reception was efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the nice room review and sorry that your meal was not up to your expectations. I have forwarded on your review to the kitchen as this should not be the case in them ringing you past 8.30pm to pick up your tray. I have extended the restaurant 3 times in size now and we are still full on most nights. We try our best to make sure everyone is happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersby, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed recently on an overnight business trip. First the room...... I Stayed here a while ago and remembered it was quite nice. The room this stay was very clean and had a recently renovated bathroom with a great shower. Good reception, friendly and fast check in/out. Room amenities are as expected - flat screen with some foxsport, wireless internet (small charge) works OK, tea and coffee and bar fridge but no minibar in room (except 2 bottles of water), it has to ordered from reception. My only gripe with the room was the bed...very hard and tough to get comfy in. No real road noise or anything so would have been a great stay but for the average bed.
Next, The restaurant.....I remember having a good meal (the 500gm rib eye - nice but expensive) here some time ago but this time the room service meal i ordered was very average and not cheap for averqage quality feed. They forgot my garlic bread, the soup entree was luke warm, actually just on cold around the edge of the bowl. The main was rissotto that was watery and had very little taste, even with parmesan and chicken on top. Really dissappointed and then topped off by a late-ish phone call from the kitchen 'reminding' me to make sure my tray was outside the door. This was already done as i was told when the meal arrived this was required. The quality of the restaurant food and staff does not match the motel room and staff. Overall i can forgive the average bed and for a good shower and very clean room its good value, i will stay again and eat out, pizza capers across the road has very nice gourmet pizza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseLoverBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Great to see you loved the room. We only use 2 bed brand types which are Austarlian made. They are not cheap by any means and are Australias most popular and trusted brands. I have on so many occasions been asked for the bed type from customers after they have stayed so they can make it their next bedding purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in one of the New 2 bedroom apartments with my wife and 3 children. The New Apartment block is some distance away from reception which for us was good because there was less noise. A little inconvenient was the fact that there was 4 or 5 stairs to go down to get to our front door which was on ground floor because we have one baby in a pram. So not good for those in a wheelchair. The apartment was very clean. It was decorated nicely and had a modern feel with a large flat screen TV in lounge room. There was a glass dining table with 4 chairs. The kitchen had all that you would need. The 2 bedrooms were roomy. There was a seperate toilet and a bathroom with no bath and just a shower. The apartment was made each day. The front door was fully glazed and although was darkly tinted people were able to see in if they stood at the front of the door which was a bit invasive, The buffet breakfast was good with Bacon, poached eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, hash browns, baked beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, cereals, toast and pastries. All in all I would recommend the New Apartments and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the New Apartments in the grey brick building with black roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoccoinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review on our apartments. One thing that customers need to know is that this is a huge place and we take great pride in looking after all our rooms. We have hundreds of customers staying every night and we like to keep them happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have been staying here regularly for some time now and always dissappopinted when I cant get a room. The Cattleman's is by far the nicest of any motel in Dubbo, and I think I have tried them all over the years.
The renovations to the rooms and the new additions are exceptional and very comfortable and relaxing.
Highly recommend the Cattlemans.
Oh, and the steak's are awesome...!!

Room Tip: The newer ones are the best, but the renovations have made the older section pretty good too. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of the Cattlemans. We have hundreds of customers stay every night of the week and we want them to leave happy. This is a family business and we have personally built every room. I am sure with our many different room types and different price ranges we achieve this. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, ate in the restaurant 1 night & had breakfast twice.
Room was ok, slightly larger than some hotels. Bathroom was clean & tidy. Word of warning, keep the bathroom door closed when you go to bed, otherwise you'll be woken by the sunlight lighting up the place as it pours through the glass brick window!

The info book/folder in the room did not really tell you much. It didn't have a map of where things are located in the labyrinth layout of the motel - the motel has expanded in to various properties over the years. There was no explanation of how to operate the tv remote to find out what tv channels there were. If you don't master the remote then you'll only see the channels that the previous occupant watched. The volume of the tv in our room was quite loud- we had it on a setting of 1, as we didn't want to disturb our neighbours.

You could hear a bit of traffic noise late at night- just a few trucks braking for the roundabout , the road isn't too busy for a highway.

The mugs in our rooms were not cleaned when our room was serviced.

The restaurant was undergoing renovations whilst we were there & we had to walk through the work area to get to the other half of the restaurant. Meal was OK, but they really stinted on the side dish of vegetables- 6 pieces of carrot & 15 slices of zucchini between 4 people. As we were part of a large conference group the meals were just alternated , chicken/beef. No-one was asked how they liked their beef cooked, luckily I like mine rare, 'cos that's how it came!

Breakfast - here's my tip, choose the cooked breakfast as it's only $1 more than the continental. The sausages should be avoided though, I had trouble cutting it with the knife. It was dry & hard!

It was an OK place to stay, but next timeI'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMountaineer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your response. Breakfasts are so busy the food usually moves to ! Sorry about your sausages but please in that case all you have to do is let a wait staff member know and the problem would have been fixed immediately. As for our rating, the AAA Australia do a full assesment on all our rooms by an independent auditor and they are very experienced. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, which are newly refurbished. Nice modern decor, very clean and comfortable. Nice little patio (we were on the ground floor) with grassed are and a park across the road. Awesome shower head, not one of those trickly water savers. We did not try the restaurant but there are many other restaurants and take aways close by. Only 5 minutes from the zoo so great location. Only complaints are small ones. There was no entertainment unit, the DVD player was on the floor with cables going up to the mounted tv; all coffee mugs had chips and each of the glasses was a different size and shape. Would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond33w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review response. We take great pride in all our rooms and like to keep them modern, new and up to date. Every morning in our office we get so many lovely comments from our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#18 of 30 in Dubbo
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cattleman's Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Property: Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Address: 8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubbo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cattleman's Country Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for accommodation in Dubbo, the multi award winning Cattleman's Country Motor Inn offers a variety of very well appointed motel style rooms and apartments.Often described as "Dubbo accommodation at its best", the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is located centrally and is the only AAA rated 4 1/2 star motel in Dubbo. It is set on 3 acres with 110 rooms and serviced apartments and includes an indoor (heated) and 2 outdoor pools. For your dining pleasure we have our multi award winning restaurant which has been voted "The Best Restaurant West of the Blue Mountains". Open for breakfast and dinner 7 days a week as well as capable of seating 300 people, our Master Chefs ensure that every experience is of the highest standard. Our restaurant bar will allow you to sit and relax before settling into your meal.For conferences, we have purpose built conference rooms with dedicated seating for up to 120 people. For functions we have function rooms that can cater for up to 300 people. It is little wonder that the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is the first choice of many traveling to Dubbo with its quality accommodation, excellent facilities and all at an affordable price.The Cattleman's has friendly and helpful staff and is operated by the owners themselves, who have built the motel from the ground up. We look forward to meeting you and making your visit to Dubbo an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cattleman's Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cattlemans Country Hotel
Cattlemans Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing