We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the wild things are”

Taronga Western Plains Zoo
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mtns NSW
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Where the wild things are”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Starting with a range of ticket prices/lengths of use, everything here was geared to make this visit as easy and enjoyable as possible. Due to other commitments, we went late in the afternoon. I drove around very slowly and we stopped at each animal enclosure while my son hopped out and took photos. We saw many animals briefly, with my son being awed by the size of the animals - he had not been to a zoo for many years.
The gift shop is well-stocked with a range of goodies for all prices and tastes. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
We plan to go again when we have much more time available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marjie781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,416
    570
    157
    44
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to view wonderful creatures”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just love the way the Zoo is laid out and that you can take your own car driving through the beautifully maintained grounds. Some of the exhibits are a 30 meter walk and for some with bad legs this is a bit difficult however it is all wheelchair friendly. The staff unobtrusive but very knowledgeable. The entry fee covers two consecutive days which is great for families who can still see it all without the kids getting too tired. Picnic areas are well maintained and laid out in various sections of the Zoo. A must if you are passing through. Added attraction is that you can stay overnight at the zoo. This is expensive but worth checking out.What ever you choose it will be worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“ZOO VISIT”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff friendly and welcoming on arrival, found the elephant, tiger and large beasts much more interesting than smaller animals. Still a lot of renovations going on, and some of the enclosures looked tired looking and most of the animals were asleep, probably because it was hot and more often than not, they were nocturnal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bixandlites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Free and Wild Animals...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Zoo is a fantastic place for all ages to visit while in Dubbo.The animals are free roaming ..not closed up in pens etc... You can travel by car, walk to see the animals feeding etc...The Taronga Western Plains Zoo has a wide range of spectacular animals for one to view. Highly recommend !!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goldee_lockes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Zoofari, Tarong Western Plains Zoo”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved every bit of Zoofari; the accommodation and lodge was perfect for the environment the food was sensational, staff and guides included are genuinely passionate about the product and a great asset to Zoofari.

Highlight was definitely the close animal interaction – it was an amazingly ‘real’ experience while the back of house tours were a fantastic insight into the maintenance and care that goes into looking after them all. Lowlight – one night definitely wasn’t enough, could have very happily settled into the ‘lodge’ and enjoyed an afternoon of G&T’s!

Overall the experience was fantastic, one that we shall speak of to many, and for a while to come!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taronga Western Plains Zoo also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Taronga Western Plains Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing