We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for kids & adults alike”

Taronga Western Plains Zoo
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for kids & adults alike”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It is very expensive to get in but there is lots to do & see & well worth a visit? We took our own car so were hopping in & out but the open carts u could hire looked gr8 as well. There r bikes to hire so one can casually ride around as well. All in all well a good day out & even better if one takes a picnic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,454
    581
    160
    44
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stay at Zoofari for a complete experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Free public areas were good fun - we cycled around the zoo. Better value was staying at Zoofari lodge overnight with included 3 behind-the-scenes tours to see all the animals.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Crimitorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it, including being able to drive around”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well, it was an experience, we've been to Taronga, Monarto & the ACT Zoo, but this was certainly different. Also, there's so much to see - a 2 day pass is certainly required. note, if you go - that is automatically in the price. :-)
Whole family loved it, loved the keeper feeding & talks they give... I think the kids loved the Otters the most, and wife liked the Galapagos Tortises... Even the baby one. Which is a crackup - since they have a sign to 'call' a number on - if the littlie gets turned on his shell. Hilarious! Only one in captivity I believe too...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RaTTyRaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga Victoria australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

What. Fantastic way to spend day. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The layout of the park is excellent. CongratulTions to all involved.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
705 reviews
330 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Almost in the jungle”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visited the zoo after staying overnight in Zoofari lodge. Because of this we had free entry for a couple of days, if you've not stayed in the accommodation it's about $45pp but that still gives you 2 days entry.

Reception is friendly and you get a map of the zoo and explanation of things. The exhibits are all well set out and quite big for the animals. This sometimes means that they hide down the back of the grounds and can be hard to see.

But there are plenty of different animals to look at so much to keep the kids interested in.

Plenty of parking spots around the circuit, but not a lot of those are in the shade, and if you are there on a weekday take a drink as the half way drink stop only opens on weekends.

If you don't want to drive your car you can hire a bike or a golf cart (cart is $70 for 3 hrs or $90 all day).

Plenty of souvenirs for sale and there are a few different offerings for lunch at the cafe. This is a nice spot overlooking a lake and monkey exhibit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taronga Western Plains Zoo also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Taronga Western Plains Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing