We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient”
Review of The Aberdeen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aberdeen Motel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for one night in after visiting the zoo in Dubbo - only a 5 minute drive away.
Hotel was very easy to find - on the main road.
Dinner was quick and easy - take away right across the road.

The reception staff were really friendly - we were under the impression that the hotel had wifi included. Turned out it didn't, but we were given 3 free hours of wifi for the inconvenience (even though it was our over-sight).

The room was comfortable and reasonably priced. The night was quite cold because the air-conditioner wasn't working properly. If you are a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend this hotel to you because of the traffic that comes past the hotel, including semi-trailers. Quite loud.

We ordered room service for breakfast. The toast was stone cold, and everything was way over-priced.
We were asked to leave our tray outside once we were finished. About 15 minutes later after delivery, we had staff knock on the door requesting our tray. When we said we weren't finished, the staff member made it quite clear that they were not impressed.

The cleaning staff the next morning were not friendly at all. I didn't see one of them smile at once, nor did any of them acknowledge our presence when we walked past them almost brushing shoulders.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimB2830, Owner at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi Cherry
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Apologies for the breakfast experience and cleaners, I have spoken to relevant staff and they were somewhat embarrassed and apologetic - generally they are a very happy bunch and it has been valuable feedback for them.
Hope you are able to stay with us again and experience the hospitality we pride ourselves on.

Regards
Jim beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

The host was nice...Room was clean and neat.. price reasonable.
We only stopped there after a long drive and we were bushed so we turned in early to grab what sleep we could on the standard motel "firmer than it needs to be" mattress all motels seem to have.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor room if you can..you have less distance and no stairs to carry the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hi Ross,
Thanks for the honest and constructive review. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience. In regards to your bed comment, everyone has different preferences so it is difficult to please everyone.We do have a few variety of beds available and our regulars get to know which they prefer and usually request the room/bed they like.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Positive: cheap rooms, quite clean, parking
Negative: thin walls hence very loud

We were very unlucky and had the most terrible room neighbours that were drinking and making lots of noise all night long. After a couple of sleepless hours we called the management and they did .... nothing. Probably they were terrified of those low-lifes themselves. We left the hotel in the middle of the night. Terrible experience. Dubbo is not that great of a place anyway. The zoo is alright, but really nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austriantravel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We were not happy to read that due to the neighboring guests being noisy you didn’t get to enjoy your time with us. If you contacted management they would have definitely addressed the issue by talking to the offending people immediately. We find that while most guests are respectful of others, occasionally people can forget that others around them are trying to rest or sleep. Possibly in this case as in past cases the owner may have had to make several requests before the rowdy guests in question did settle down.
Apologizes for the inconvenience caused to you.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a long day of driving, the motel which is located in the centre of town was easy to find. Close to all amenities and dependent what you wanted for dinner most outlets including restaurants were within easy walking distance of the motel.

Also being a hot day it was nice to be able to cool off in the swimming pool located in the courtyard.

Our room was a good size, air conditioned with tea and coffee making facilities and the fridge was stocked with a small selection of soft and alcoholic drinks.


Very comfortable and very affordable! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The motel is located on the main highway and is L shaped. We had a room in the corner of the L locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Jan,
Firstly, I want to say thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Secondly, I wanted to thank you for the very comprehensive and positive content of it. I noticed that you have reviewed quiet a few motels/hotels which makes your review of the Aberdeen even more rewarding to read. I hope we do see you both again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Large comfortable rooms, modern air conditioning and large TV.This is one of the cleanest motels I have stayed in. Great location, very close to main shopping area and eateries.
The RSL club only 2 blocks away. (Sorry, but I cannot recommend meals at the RSL) but the bar staff and service is very good.
There is at least 5 or 6 fast food outlets across the road. I recommend the Amaroo hotel just down the main shopping street, 3 blocks on the corner. Very tasty meals, great prices.
The only reason I have not given the motel a 5 star rating is it's a bit cramped for parking and it's has stairs to the second level. (Wide accessible stairs.)
No hesitation of staying here again.

Room Tip: If you have knee problems or not as fit as you would like to be, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutbackPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi Outback phantom,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are very happy to read that you found the room and the room facilities to be clean and comfortable.Thank you also for letting readers know that we are located in a very convenient area. In regards to the parking issue, we do have 32 rooms and 34 standard sized car spaces on the premises. As you mentioned we do have 1st floor rooms but we happily accommodate any preferences when possible.
Hope we do see you again.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dubbo is a regular stop for us on road trips between Melbourne and Queensland. This is the first time we have stayed here. Number one requirement for me after a long days driving is a hot shower with lots of water pressure. Tick number one - shower was terrific.

We couldn't park right outside our door as the spots are not reserved. I did pick a ground floor room for this reason but the car wasn't far away so no big deal.

We did experience a bit of noise from some unruly children above us. The floor/ceilings don't offer much in the way of insulation. But they had stopped by the time we put our heads on the pillow so didn't need to follow up any further.

Location is good on the main road, with a selection of fast food restaurants nearby within walking distance. Despite that there wasn't any noise at night from the traffic etc so no problem sleeping.

We were away very early so didn't have breakfast or eat any other meals at the motel, so couldn't comment on that. The check-in staff were friendly and prompt. Overall pretty much what we expected and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Neil,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aberdeen and would stay again on your next trip through. Apologies for the noise from above that you experienced. We are available 24/7 to handle any issues that guests may be having if you experience that in the future.
Hope we do see you again.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was taking my partner and daughter to Dubbo zoo and booked this hotel as the price of the room included the ticket. Upon arrival was checked in quickly and found the room very clean and a comfortable bed and the air conditioning very good. The pool was great in the afternoon as some shelter fro the trees give some relief from the sun.
and to top it off, there is a nice little area where there is a BBQ and a table and chairs, which the hotel supplied the bbq equipment and plates and utensils.
The people in the office where very nice and did a great job. I will be booking here when i come back to Dubbo next time. Thank you for a great 3 nights

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank step51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hi Stephen,
Thank you so much for not only taking the time to complete our feedback form but to also for posting your feedback about your experience staying with us. Thank you also for the very positive things that you had to say.
Your post mentioned a couple of things that people would be looking for, especially if they are staying in the summer season. The air cons are fairly new split systems and they do an excellent job of keeping the rooms cool. As you mentioned, pool area is secluded and well shaded which is great on those hot days, especially for parents who have to supervise their children.
Probably the most pleasing thing to read though was that the room was clean and comfortable, the service you received was great and that you will be staying again.
More and more people seem to be using guest’s reviews when choosing accommodation so we are very appreciative of guests that post reviews. Thanks again.
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 31 in Dubbo
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#22 of 31 in Dubbo
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 31 in Dubbo
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Motel

Address: 25 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range: $97 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Motel is the most central accommodation Dubbo has to offer. Park the car and walk to all attractions. Shopping, restaurants, the Western Plains Zoo and airport are all just a short distance away. Take a stroll along the banks of the Macquarie River just behind the Motel, or relax with a glass of wine from one of Dubbo's local wineries. Jim, Suzie and their friendly staff are here to welcome you in with smiles and can provide you with anything you need - just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Aberdeen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing