We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Affordable”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a long day of driving, the motel which is located in the centre of town was easy to find. Close to all amenities and dependent what you wanted for dinner most outlets including restaurants were within easy walking distance of the motel.

Also being a hot day it was nice to be able to cool off in the swimming pool located in the courtyard.

Our room was a good size, air conditioned with tea and coffee making facilities and the fridge was stocked with a small selection of soft and alcoholic drinks.


Very comfortable and very affordable! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The motel is located on the main highway and is L shaped. We had a room in the corner of the L locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Jan,
Firstly, I want to say thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Secondly, I wanted to thank you for the very comprehensive and positive content of it. I noticed that you have reviewed quiet a few motels/hotels which makes your review of the Aberdeen even more rewarding to read. I hope we do see you both again someday.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    64
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
43
29
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Large comfortable rooms, modern air conditioning and large TV.This is one of the cleanest motels I have stayed in. Great location, very close to main shopping area and eateries.
The RSL club only 2 blocks away. (Sorry, but I cannot recommend meals at the RSL) but the bar staff and service is very good.
There is at least 5 or 6 fast food outlets across the road. I recommend the Amaroo hotel just down the main shopping street, 3 blocks on the corner. Very tasty meals, great prices.
The only reason I have not given the motel a 5 star rating is it's a bit cramped for parking and it's has stairs to the second level. (Wide accessible stairs.)
No hesitation of staying here again.

Room Tip: If you have knee problems or not as fit as you would like to be, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutbackPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Outback phantom,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are very happy to read that you found the room and the room facilities to be clean and comfortable.Thank you also for letting readers know that we are located in a very convenient area. In regards to the parking issue, we do have 32 rooms and 34 standard sized car spaces on the premises. As you mentioned we do have 1st floor rooms but we happily accommodate any preferences when possible.
Hope we do see you again.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dubbo is a regular stop for us on road trips between Melbourne and Queensland. This is the first time we have stayed here. Number one requirement for me after a long days driving is a hot shower with lots of water pressure. Tick number one - shower was terrific.

We couldn't park right outside our door as the spots are not reserved. I did pick a ground floor room for this reason but the car wasn't far away so no big deal.

We did experience a bit of noise from some unruly children above us. The floor/ceilings don't offer much in the way of insulation. But they had stopped by the time we put our heads on the pillow so didn't need to follow up any further.

Location is good on the main road, with a selection of fast food restaurants nearby within walking distance. Despite that there wasn't any noise at night from the traffic etc so no problem sleeping.

We were away very early so didn't have breakfast or eat any other meals at the motel, so couldn't comment on that. The check-in staff were friendly and prompt. Overall pretty much what we expected and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Neil,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aberdeen and would stay again on your next trip through. Apologies for the noise from above that you experienced. We are available 24/7 to handle any issues that guests may be having if you experience that in the future.
Hope we do see you again.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was taking my partner and daughter to Dubbo zoo and booked this hotel as the price of the room included the ticket. Upon arrival was checked in quickly and found the room very clean and a comfortable bed and the air conditioning very good. The pool was great in the afternoon as some shelter fro the trees give some relief from the sun.
and to top it off, there is a nice little area where there is a BBQ and a table and chairs, which the hotel supplied the bbq equipment and plates and utensils.
The people in the office where very nice and did a great job. I will be booking here when i come back to Dubbo next time. Thank you for a great 3 nights

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Stephen,
Thank you so much for not only taking the time to complete our feedback form but to also for posting your feedback about your experience staying with us. Thank you also for the very positive things that you had to say.
Your post mentioned a couple of things that people would be looking for, especially if they are staying in the summer season. The air cons are fairly new split systems and they do an excellent job of keeping the rooms cool. As you mentioned, pool area is secluded and well shaded which is great on those hot days, especially for parents who have to supervise their children.
Probably the most pleasing thing to read though was that the room was clean and comfortable, the service you received was great and that you will be staying again.
More and more people seem to be using guest’s reviews when choosing accommodation so we are very appreciative of guests that post reviews. Thanks again.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The rooms at the Aberdeen are clean and well maintained. The motel is very close to food outlets and shops in Dubbo. As a family run business this is a safe and friendly option for business people and family groups. The breakfasts are home made and well priced. Very easy access to the main routes heading in all directions makes this motel a winner

Room Tip: Ask for a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjeurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us at the Aberdeen. Thank you also for taking the time to post the review. I am getting more and more bookers mentioning that they choice us because of the reviews past guests have posted. In your review you mentioned that the motel was clean, well maintained, safe, friendly and close to the CBD which are all important factors for people when choosing somewhere to stay.
Thanks again. Hope we see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We set off for a 'cheap' trip to the Dubbo Zoo with our 12 yr old boy. This normally worries me!! As we arrive in Dubbo to this motel I see a 1980's motel that my family used to own..oh well it's only 2 nights. Well what a lovely surprise. Lovely man greets us, we open the room and find 4 comfortable beds, air, very clean bathroom, shampoo etc, tissues,tea etc, and a lightly stocked mini bar at reasonable prices. It dose shout 1980's time warp but all that says is great tradesmanship that you wouldn't remove for today's tiles and carpet!! Beautifully maintained rooms, pool and grounds run by a local family. Fantastic for a night away. There is also breakfast and dinner in the room made by the owners if you want. Close to a great pub (Milestone), accross the road from the macca's, subway and Pizza Hut if you're so inclined. Stroll to main road of restaurants but don't eat at 'Sticks and Stones' pizza-undercooked pizza and a miserable manager and over priced for the country.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi,
Thank you very much for taking time to review you and your families stay with us at the Aberdeen. The lovely man that served you on check in is the owner here. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about him. As you mentioned the motel was built in the 80's however the rooms have had a lot of refurbishing since Jim and Suzie have taken it over. They have replaced the queen beds, air conditioning units were replaced with split systems, and T.V’s all replaced with flat screens, new carpet and bed linen just to name a few things.
You also made mention of our location which is very close to the CBD being handy. It is great, I think for families especially to be able to leave the car and go for a leisurely stroll together.
I often refer guests when looking for somewhere for dinner or lunch to the Milestone hotel so it was great to read that you enjoyed it.
Thanks again for taking time to review us and we hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our first trip to Dubbo.
Very friendly and efficient check in and given a spacious room with a double and two single beds. The room smelt lovely and was impeccably clean.
With a lightly stocked minibar, toiletries, tea, milk, iron and a large flat screen TV with Foxtel, there is nothing more you could ask for, especially at this price.
Located near the main street and on the main highway, directly opposite Red Rooster, McDonalds and Pizza Hut, you would expect it to be noisy, but not at all. There is a small, clean pool as well if you need to cool off.
It's only 10 minutes to Western Plains Zoo also.
They offer in room breakfast and dinner but a short walk takes you past the fast food outlets to a few local restaurants. Try the Milestone Hotel for great food and service, 5 minutes walk away.
Highly recommended and we will not even look anywhere else when we return to Dubbo!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank moorandmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello Moors,
Thank you very much for your in depth review and also for completing our feedback form when you were here.
We always welcome feedback from our guests as we find it is a very helpful tool for pinpointing any areas that we might need improving in.
Guest reviews are also becoming a very popular tool for people to help in choosing accommodation.
What better praise could there be than the “service was friendly and efficient” and the facilities “impeccably clean”?
As you also mentioned our location is definitely a plus as well. Being so close to the CBD means that people can leave their cars here and walk to the main shopping area or stroll to one of the many cafes and restaurants.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Hope we see you both again.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
#27 of 30 in Dubbo
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
0.1 mi away
Dubbo Palms Motel
Dubbo Palms Motel
#15 of 30 in Dubbo
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden West Motor Inn
Golden West Motor Inn
#16 of 30 in Dubbo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn

Property: Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Address: 25 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Motor Inn (Sundowner) is the most central accommodation Dubbo has to offer. Park the car and walk to all attractions. Shopping, restaurants, the Western Plains Zoo and airport are all just a short distance away. Take a stroll along the banks of the Macquarie River just behind the Motel, or relax with a glass of wine from one of Dubbo's local wineries. Jim, Suzie and their friendly staff are here to welcome you in with smiles and can provide you with anything you need - just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing