We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of The Aberdeen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Motel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights and the room was very clean and spacious. Found it a very homely place to stay with the decor very welcoming. It is close to great restaurants and the CBD. Would definitely recommend staying here and the price was good for what you get. The staff were very helpful and the office is open long hours if you need anything they will help you out. All in all I was impressed with the service and room for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainey2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hi Lainey,
It was very satisfying to read your reviews on Tripadvisor and on your feedback form.
Myself and the staff were all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and spacious and the staff to be helpful and friendly.
Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 157 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a very clean, welcoming and affordable motel in one of Dubbo's best locations. It is situated less than a 10 minute drive from the Western Plains Zoo and just a few minutes from the Dubbo CBD restaurants cafes and shops. There are a number of fast food outlets and takeaways directly across the road which is perfect for families on a budget. We had four generations of our family traveling together but were delighted with the space the two bedroom apartment afforded us. There was a large queen sized bedroom with an extra single bed, airconditioner and flat screen TV. Next door was the twin room with ample space for the travel cot provided for our youngest member and although there was no aircon it was close enough to the lounge room aircon to remain cool enough for sleeping even after a 40C day. The bathroom was large with a great shower (probably the best of any motel we have ever experienced) and ample supplies for four adults. The one disappointment was that apart from a two seater lounge-bed the only other seating was the four dining chairs around the table which made for uncomfortable evening movie watching. We would definitely return to this motel when we next visit Dubbo and would have no hesitation recommending it to our family and friends

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank coljanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi ,

Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to write about your stay. It’s always very rewarding to read reviews such as yours.
In regards to your comment about the sofa, I believe the owner has previously considered larger sofas for our family units so I will be sure to pass on your suggestion.
Thanks again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back some day.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

the room was clean tidy and very reasonable priced if you ring direct.
close to main street and eatery's.
Council needs to trim up the street trees as most of the signage for places in dubbo are covered.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi Andrew,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Aberdeen. We appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know about their experience.
Hopefully we will see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here November for 2 nights to do the Dubbo zoo. Rooms are spacious and clean but horribly outdated. However, it was still okay. there are lots of similar motels all along the same street and they all look about the same age but the sundowner does look a little more well kept. This is especially so for the little pool area which my kids enjoyed. the other motels' pool areas are right on the street side and not very inviting looking whereas the sundowner one is more private and inviting with palm trees etc. check in/out was very efficient and polite service. There is a mcdonalds across the street as well as other fast food joints. 5 minute walk and you have reached downtown Dubbo. Zoo is a 5-10min drive away. Our room had a mini fridge which is helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi Cindy L,
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us.
We do get a lot of guests commenting on the spaciousness and cleanliness of our rooms.
In regards to your comment about the motel being outdated, since taking over the motel the current owners have updated all the rooms with carpet and paint, new split system air conditioning units, flat screen TVs, bedspreads and queen beds.
So as you have mentioned it has been well maintained.
Until next time,
Warmest regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of nine-three generations-had three rooms. All were large, clean and comfortable. Everyone got a good night's sleep. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful! We highly recommend this motel for all purposes!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hi Linda,
We appreciate the time taken to review your stay at The Aberdeen. Feedback is important to us.
We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay and found the rooms clean and comfortable as we pride ourselves in the presentation of our rooms.
Hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Jim, Suzie & Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

How good is it after driving for 10 hours to have your keys handed over and paperwork completed within 5 mins? That's what happened here within 15 mins we had unpacked the care and were at the pool. Great service, comfy large family room. Plenty of places to charge the "screens" and close by to what was open. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbfamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for your review.We appreciate all feedback we receive.
It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, from check in process to room and location.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived late one night in Dubbo without an accommodation booking and several hotels we tried were fully booked. We found the Sundowner Aberdeen and they had a disabled room available. The bathroom was wonderfully big and the room was clean and comfortable. Despite being on a busy road and near the office and driveway there was no noise in our room and we slept well. The hotel is not new but it was all we needed. You will need to bring your own plates etc if you plan on preparing your own breakfast in your room. There are plenty of places to get a meal within easy walking distance. The lady in the office was extremely helpful and friendly. It felt like old fashioned service. When we were packing to leave in the morning the other guests in the car park were also very friendly and cheerful. There was real community atmosphere about the place. Perhaps it is the sort of people who choose to stay there but it had a good 'vibe' about it. Overall a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hi Miriam,
Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at the Aberdeen.
Your comments were all very pleasing, especially your comment regarding the service feeling like old fashioned service and the overall atmosphere being cheerful and friendly. We do have alot of regular guests that stay and I think that adds to the atmosphere of the place. We also get regular comments about our housemaids being helpful and friendly.
Thanks again and hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 31 in Dubbo
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 31 in Dubbo
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
0.7 mi away
Akuna Motor Inn Dubbo
0.1 mi away
Shearing Shed Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Motel

Address: 25 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range: $96 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Motel is the most central accommodation Dubbo has to offer. Park the car and walk to all attractions. Shopping, restaurants, the Western Plains Zoo and airport are all just a short distance away. Take a stroll along the banks of the Macquarie River just behind the Motel, or relax with a glass of wine from one of Dubbo's local wineries. Jim, Suzie and their friendly staff are here to welcome you in with smiles and can provide you with anything you need - just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Aberdeen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing