We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good basic place”
Review of The Aberdeen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aberdeen Motel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here November for 2 nights to do the Dubbo zoo. Rooms are spacious and clean but horribly outdated. However, it was still okay. there are lots of similar motels all along the same street and they all look about the same age but the sundowner does look a little more well kept. This is especially so for the little pool area which my kids enjoyed. the other motels' pool areas are right on the street side and not very inviting looking whereas the sundowner one is more private and inviting with palm trees etc. check in/out was very efficient and polite service. There is a mcdonalds across the street as well as other fast food joints. 5 minute walk and you have reached downtown Dubbo. Zoo is a 5-10min drive away. Our room had a mini fridge which is helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi Cindy L,
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us.
We do get a lot of guests commenting on the spaciousness and cleanliness of our rooms.
In regards to your comment about the motel being outdated, since taking over the motel the current owners have updated all the rooms with carpet and paint, new split system air conditioning units, flat screen TVs, bedspreads and queen beds.
So as you have mentioned it has been well maintained.
Until next time,
Warmest regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of nine-three generations-had three rooms. All were large, clean and comfortable. Everyone got a good night's sleep. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful! We highly recommend this motel for all purposes!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hi Linda,
We appreciate the time taken to review your stay at The Aberdeen. Feedback is important to us.
We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay and found the rooms clean and comfortable as we pride ourselves in the presentation of our rooms.
Hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Jim, Suzie & Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

How good is it after driving for 10 hours to have your keys handed over and paperwork completed within 5 mins? That's what happened here within 15 mins we had unpacked the care and were at the pool. Great service, comfy large family room. Plenty of places to charge the "screens" and close by to what was open. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbfamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for your review.We appreciate all feedback we receive.
It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, from check in process to room and location.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived late one night in Dubbo without an accommodation booking and several hotels we tried were fully booked. We found the Sundowner Aberdeen and they had a disabled room available. The bathroom was wonderfully big and the room was clean and comfortable. Despite being on a busy road and near the office and driveway there was no noise in our room and we slept well. The hotel is not new but it was all we needed. You will need to bring your own plates etc if you plan on preparing your own breakfast in your room. There are plenty of places to get a meal within easy walking distance. The lady in the office was extremely helpful and friendly. It felt like old fashioned service. When we were packing to leave in the morning the other guests in the car park were also very friendly and cheerful. There was real community atmosphere about the place. Perhaps it is the sort of people who choose to stay there but it had a good 'vibe' about it. Overall a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hi Miriam,
Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at the Aberdeen.
Your comments were all very pleasing, especially your comment regarding the service feeling like old fashioned service and the overall atmosphere being cheerful and friendly. We do have alot of regular guests that stay and I think that adds to the atmosphere of the place. We also get regular comments about our housemaids being helpful and friendly.
Thanks again and hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a night whilst travelling across states for Christmas holidays after booking online a few months before. Our booking was in there system, and check in was quick and easy which was great as we were tired from our long drive The motel room was quiet, clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bec_R385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Bec,
Firstly, thank you for posting your review of the Aberdeen Motor Inn and your stay with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others .It was particularly nice to read your comments regarding checking in being quick and easy.
Hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Well done to the Sundowner Aberdeen. The comments on trip advisor helped us choose this hotel for our 3 day stat in Dubbo. What a wonderful spot.
Close to amenities; walk across the road! Close to major tourist attractions; 8mins to the zoo, 14mins to the observatory!
Close to local restaurants; again, Cross the road and you have access to the top reviewed in Trip Advisor.
Our room was cleaned daily- pristine. Aircon was a godsend and cooled us efficiently (set to 24). The hotel salt water pool was accessed daily (40 degree weekend!!!).
Inexpensive Internet wifi BUT I believe that wifi access needs to become a free service at all hotels. It's ridiculous that in Australian hotels/motels we still need to pay for net access!
All in all a fab experience at the Sundowner.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixeltoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. It was rewarding to read that past posted reviews of the Aberdeen helped you in your choice.
Thank you also for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room. The housemaids at the Aberdeen all take pride in the work that they do and will be pleased when I pass your review onto them.
I will also be sure to pass your comments regarding WIFI onto management.
Hope to see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent value for money, very clean and close to all the shops. This is a two story complex so if stairs are an issue be sure to ask for a unit on the ground floor as there isn't a lift.
Staff were more than helpfull in suggesting where to eat locally as there aren't any cooking facilities in the rooms. We ate at the RSL, five minute walk, which was fine but be sure to choose from the cooked freshly menu as the food in the buffet area looked tired. Would be more than happy to stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirnpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbo74, Front Office Manager at The Aberdeen Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Hi,
Thank you for reviewing your time with us at The Aberdeen. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would come and stay again.
We hope we do see you again in the future and that we can exceed your expectations.
Regards,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 31 in Dubbo
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#22 of 31 in Dubbo
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 31 in Dubbo
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Motel

Address: 25 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Motel is the most central accommodation Dubbo has to offer. Park the car and walk to all attractions. Shopping, restaurants, the Western Plains Zoo and airport are all just a short distance away. Take a stroll along the banks of the Macquarie River just behind the Motel, or relax with a glass of wine from one of Dubbo's local wineries. Jim, Suzie and their friendly staff are here to welcome you in with smiles and can provide you with anything you need - just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aberdeen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing