We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food Fantastic Service”
Review of Escence Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Escence Cafe Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Fantastic Service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We just arrived in Dubbo and went to lunch at Escence. Wow the food was stunning. I very rarely can finish a full meal but not this time, the pork belly salad was absolutely delicious and abundant with pork belly. My starter of lemongrass and lime oysters hmmmm yum. We will be back!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“international class with local colour”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Eating out doesn't come much better than this: we started on a cold night with a thick smokey ham and pea soup with good bread followed by a superb filet steak and my wife had atlantic salmon, both with interesting vegetable combos, topped off with Prince of Orange shiraz viognier. Informal and attentive service in heart of CBD.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maczero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“beautiful meal”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a great meal at Escence in Dubbo. Staff very friendly and professional and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. I had salmon with bean mash and spinach and my husband had lamb shank pie with mushy peas and both were delicious. Puddings were also really good and just the thing for a cold night, we tried the sticky date and the lime puddings. Cheesecake seems to be also one of the specialties with one of the wait staff making many different varieties.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Impress!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our son took us to Excence for Mothers Day lunch. He knows it is one of my favourite places to dine and we had an absolutely delicious lunch. The service was excellent and staff very helpful and I was one very proud Mum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M007J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fine-dining restaurant in Dubbo”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We love essence and have been coming here ever since we moved to Dubbo. Best steak in town, and reasonable size (quality over quantity thank goodness). It baffles me it isn't always packed, the excellent creative food, regularly changing menus and professional friendly staff deserve a full restaurant!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedrosesNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escence Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing