We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School Football Trip.... Great choice..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tallarook Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tallarook Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“School Football Trip.... Great choice..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the booking phone call , the whole stay, breakfast and checkout... This is a wonderful hotel. Richard is a warm and friendly host, who makes you feel very welcome. He was interested and sincere about the reason for our stay, even turning up to watch some of the kids football game. The rooms are very spacious and easily accommodate a family with room to move, and great value for money. The kitchenette was well equipped. Breaky was lovely and location was great. Easy access to all Dubbo has to offer. Thanks Richard for great stay. We will return here when next in Dubbo.

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor room, which suited our needs. But all rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluechomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Hi Bluechomsky,

Thanks for your lovely comments. Its pretty easy. You cant sell rooms once the person has hung up the phone so me and the team always try our best to sound friendly over the phone. And speaking of teams, It was my duty to support the St Pius boys. As u know both my kids went there. And on that, what a great bunch, teachers and students a pleasure.

As for the sincere stuff. The feeling is mutual. I get a great thrill from almost every guest. I only say almost every guest because some are visiting for sad reasons. But its great to have a job I love.

I hope to see you again.

Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team

We do hope you make it back to Dub Vegas. Its a great place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    102
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
96
72
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Tallarook for 3 nights in July while our kids were attending a stay-in basketball camp at Dubbo Sportsworld. The room was great!! It was very clean and fresh looking with plenty of space. Having the kitchen was amazing and greatly reduced our costs for the few days as we could prepare our own meals. The owners were lovely and welcoming. We did have a small drama when our sliding door leading to the bathroom kept coming off the rails but once we reported it, by the time we returned later that day, it had been fixed.
The location is very quiet opposite a park beside the Macquarie River.
We were in Room 12A, and the only suggestion I would make would be to maybe soundproof the walls further. We had a family with small children next door who were up very early every morning and we could hear every word they were saying. We were forced to turn the heater on to block out their noise.

I will definitely stay at the Tallarook Motor Inn again. I felt very comfortable there and the rooms were very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0i1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Hi MOi1975,

your review is very welcomed. Its always nice to hear good feed back. Its funny you should mention the noise transmission. We have commenced sheeting each common wall in the Motel. It was originally only for asthetics, but it has of course the added benefit of insulation as well. So thanks for the heads up.

I go on about our location all the time. Its pretty hard to beat. And I am happy you found our facilities good and clean.

We hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards, from Richard and Tallarook team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great hotel in a lovely central spot across from park and river. Our room was clean and spacious, had a well equipped kitchenette and balcony overlooking the park. An easy walk to town, shops and restaurants. Friendly and welcoming staff. Have stayed in Dubbo numerous times and wish I had found this hotel sooner.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs rooms with a balcony overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Kathy M,

Wow. I might give the job as the response writer! lol.

I could not have said it better myself. Yep I strongly agree, if steps are no worries and especially if you are staying more than 1 night, the balcony rooms are great.

And you only have to check the reviews to get a handle on what people think of our awesome location. Handy to everything but nice and quiet.

So thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards, Richard and the Tallarook team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyngan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have been staying at the Tallarook for the past 4 years....Rooms always clean. Staff always friendly and willing to do anything to help. Great to be always greeted by name and with a smile. Our children call the Tallarook "home". Love the park across the road. Love the added bonus of the security. LOVE the new upgrades in the rooms- massive improvement. Wouldn't/want stay anywhere else in Dubbo. Our Home away from Home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walsh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Walsh Gang,

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you guys regularly and it means a lot to me that you took time to spread the Tallarook word.

I hope you are all well and I am sure we will see you soon.

Kind regards from Richard and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint motel located in Dubbo. We stayed here last Saturday night with our family (all adults). The two room unit with kitchenette was spacious, quiet and clean. It is a little dated but that is ok. The staff are friendly and we will stay again when in Dubbo.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Southsfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks Southsfan1,

Our 2 room units are very popular with groups such as yourselves. We are addressing the dated look bit by bit, but its a big job but I am very happy to say we are winning the renovation war. New a/c's, so comfy no matter the season, TV's to all rooms, new led lighting throughout, new bed heads, some modest bathroom upgrades and plenty more to come. But to keep it all in perspective, its not the Hilton, nor do we charge Hilton prices.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Go the Roosters too.

Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rylstone, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. Nice and clean and warm rooms for the winter months. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was good. Nice level very quite at night. We would use them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Julie L,
sorry for the belated reply but thank you ever so much for your glowing review of the Tallarook.

We are continually looking at cost effective ways to make it more comfortable and better value for our guests and we look forward to your next visit.

Plus I am glad you found it clean and cosy. All our new a/c's are doing the job well.

Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We chose this location as a base for visiting Western Plains Zoo, which was only 5 minutes away from the motel. As a bonus it's close to the river and just out of the city centre, so no noise issues. Rooms were comfortable and warm (it was minus 3 outside). We particularly liked that our room had an oven, so we could grab supplies from the supermarket and make our own meals. Overall excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Note some rooms are upstairs. Plus is you get a balcony, negative is dragging suitcases up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkW1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks MarkW1802,

Yes our location is superb. Its quiet, we are the only motel on the river, not to mention the beautiful park and playground. We have guests go fishing, cycling along the cycleway to the zoo opposite the Tallarook and we are walking distance (within 250m) of no fewer than 9 restaurants and 2 supermarkets.

We are extremely happy you found us good value too.

Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#14 of 30 in Dubbo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#9 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
0.6 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akuna Motor Inn Dubbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallarook Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallarook Motor Inn

Property: Tallarook Motor Inn
Address: 17 Stonehaven Ave, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Family Hotel in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tallarook Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tallarook is one of Dubbo's Premier Motor Inns. We cater for families, single travellers and business people alike. All of our spacious units are self contained with quality air conditioning and inclusions. Complimentary wi fi and Foxtel are also included.We have 10 ground floor units and all but one of our 13 upstairs units have a balcony.Our location is arguably the best in Dubbo. We are the only Inn on the Macquarie River, and a short stroll to a great range of conveniences like restaurants, fast food outlets, super markets and fuel stations. Across the quiet Stonehaven Avenue is the Biddybungie Reserve which features a great kids playground and plenty of picnic spots over looking the beautiful Macquarie River.So when your next in Dubbo, call in and say hi at the Tallarook, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tallarook Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallarook Hotel Dubbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing