We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool is cold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #29 of 126 Restaurants in Dubbo
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool is cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Cool location but cold food is not very attractive

We had an early dinner, about 6pm, and were only the third table filled in the restaurant. Initial service was great and very welcoming but quickly we had three different people serving us in semi confusion.

Orders taken and meals arrive in reasonable time. We immediately noticed all rge veg was cold on a hot plate. The steaks, lite serving, were very average and mushy.

Salad was good, fresh and good serve.

We could only conclude the food was reheated or left over in a food earmer from the lunch service.

Bill took two requests to arrive.

Better hot meal just around the corner at the Dubbo RSL the following night

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    56
    31
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
676 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Good quality steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Hogs Breath Cafe in Dubbo is much the same as Hogs Breath Cafes in the rest of Australia that I've been to. They are atmospheric in that casual family sort of way and the steaks are excellent. A main meal is more than enough. I find Hogs Breath Cafes good when travelling and I want to reliable simple meal. The Dubbo cafe fitted that bill.

Glasses of wine come in 180 ml serves, which is too much for me when it comes to responsible driving, given that a standard glass is 100 mls. Consequently, I gave the wine a miss.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overcooked. Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Yes the meals are big but terribly overpriced and overcooked. I had the chicken dijonnaise. Flavours were nice but chicken was overcooked as were the vegetables. My husband had the beef prime rib which was full of gristle and fairly well inedible. Vegetables were also overcooked... A disgrace given that meal cost $34 odd dollars. Sorry but HBC purports to have "the best steaks in the galaxy" and this is a far cry from the truth. Garlic bread was also dry and a let down. The only positive is the kids meals are well priced given the $10 includes a drink and ice-cream. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, good food, a great family restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The service was fantastic, the kids meals came out so fast!! A great restaurant to take childeren too. They enjoyed sitting down to do a bit of colouring in while they waited for their meal.
We were really hungry and we all enjoyed our meals.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great feed, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

As with almost every Hog's Breath Cafe, great food and good service - as usual!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nikkileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing