We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overated & overpriced.”

Village Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overated & overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Everyone raves about these pies but they are seriously over priced and over rated!
Lovely place to stop with good staff and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Village Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Amanda, Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor.

The team at Village Bakery Cafe pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering the highest possible customer service and product quality to our customers.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience at our store. I would like to take an opportunity to explain a little about our products.

Our family have been baking for over 95 years and with recipes handed down over four generations. The 100% pure Aussie Beef used in our pies is diced by hand and mixed with our gravy to produce one of the most awarded pies in the business. Whilst other competitors pies might seem "cheaper" in all honesty, you get what you pay for. I guarantee that there are no nasty surprise ingredients in our products and I invite you to give our product another try.

If you wish to discuss this any further please do not hesitate to contact me at michael@villagebakerycafe.com.au

Thank you again.

Michael Everett
Retail Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    83
    35
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
183 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sausage Roll was good, Danish was terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I dropped in one morning to pick up some morning tea and a hot chocolate. The sausage roll was pretty good, however the apple danish was terrible. There was 2 tiny pieces of apple and the pastry was hard and stuck together.
The hot chocolate was pretty average- not much of a chocolate taste to it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelAxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Village Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi MelAxP, Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor.

Thank you for visiting our Darling Street store and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The team at Village Bakery Cafe pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering the highest possible customer service and product quality to our customers.

Receiving feedback such as the feedback you provided today allows us to continually grow and improve our business, businesses such as ours rely on customer feedback to scope issues that sadly may not be identified until its too late.

I have passed on your queries to both our production manager and our supervisor in charge of our espresso bar. I have asked for these issues to be actioned immediately.

Thank you again.

Michael Everett
Retail Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food delicious, prices outrageous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

You usually won't be disappointed by the baked goods, which are delicious. However, the prices are high, so unless it's a special occasion, I normally don't go there. They do have a good selection of birthday cakes which are made to order for any number of guests.

Don't buy bottled drinks there, they are the biggest rip-off. Go down to Woolies or Coles - they are not far away. Same with tea/coffee - there are plenty of other cafes nearby that will make good quality hot drinks for a lot less.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetkarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, General Manager at Village Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi sweetkarina, Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor.

Thank you for visiting our Darling Street store and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The team at Village Bakery Cafe pride ourselves on our commitment to delivering the highest possible customer service and product quality to our customers.

Receiving feedback such as the feedback you provided today allows us to continually grow and improve our business, businesses such as ours rely on customer feedback to scope issues that sadly may not be identified until its too late.

In regard to the raised issue of pricing, we pride ourselves on the quality of our product and in some cases, whilst you may pay a higher price, you can rest assured that the product you are consuming is made from premium quality ingredients sourced as locally as possible, such as our 100% beef that is hand carved to ensure quality and consistency. Our team is constantly reviewing our pricing structure and the market average for all our products.

Thank you again.

Michael Everett
Retail Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great peppered steak pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

A great peppered steak pie, full with chunky meat and a full flavoured peppered gravy. The pastry was crisp and tasty. Excellent !!

Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botany Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great option for a light family breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This bakery has a fantastic menu for those seeking a reasonably priced breakfast for mum, dad and the kids. It's only a little more than the 'usual' breakfast from a fast food outlet, but worth it! We returned for a second day because of the the friendly service, cleanliness and speed...we were not kept waiting too long even though it was busy and there were 6 of us. The kids enjoyed the play area, and we enjoyed a great (quiet!) coffee while they were outside.

We picked up some fresh lamingtons and anzac biscuits on the way out, which proved a hit when at the zoo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyDathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bakery Cafe also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Village Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing